US News

SILLY SALOON SLAPFEST UNWORTHY OF LAWSUIT

IF I had been success fully sued for every punch I threw at a malcontent, I would be living under the Brooklyn Bridge.

Similarly, if I had successfully sued everyone who decked me, I’d be living on Park Avenue.

Thankfully, the wheels of justice have ground to a halt and neither of the above has come to fruition.

So can you spare a dime of understanding for Sean “Diddy” Combs?

“I know I’m recognized as a celebrity, so I know I am a walking target,” Combs said over the phone yesterday.

“But even a so-called celebrity is human and can have a simple disagreement with an acquaintance. Anyone who knows me will tell you I avoid confrontations and 99 percent of the time I am successful.”

Truth told, you would think the headline face-off between Combs and Steven Acevedo at a SoHo nightclub was something out of a John Wayne movie brawl. Again, the same truth told, they obviously didn’t come from my neighborhood. It sounds more like a slapfest.

“We contend Sean held up his open hands as a person approached him,” said his powerhouse lawyer Ben Brafman.

“I have personally witnessed on dozens of occasions him in crowded places where he can’t move without causing a stir. People want to get close to him, take pictures of him, shake his hand. Hectic. No matter how good security is, nobody knows who’s approaching him and what is on a person’s mind.

“I’m thankful that the police and the District Attorney’s Office are taking a very close look at this. This is not a case of what happened, it’s a case of who he is.”

Combs added: “Again, anyone who knows me will tell you I have never had an intention to harm anyone.”

Now, if Mr. Acevedo has complained to the cops for the scales of justice to be well-balanced, fine.

Perish the thought, but methinks Mr. Acevedo might be thinking about another balancing act – as in bank balance.

Whatever happened to the days when you would get into a punch-up and spend the rest of the night with your combatant getting drunk?

Ahhh, those were the days.