NFL

MANGINI: COUGHLIN ‘FUNNY GUY’

Eric Mangini yesterday called Giants head coach Tom Coughlin “a pretty funny guy,” which was pretty funny.

“I haven’t gotten to know him too well,” Mangini said. “I met him a few times and then I sat next to him at Romeo (Crennel’s) daughter’s wedding and got to spend some time with him there. He’s a pretty funny guy. You don’t know somebody until you get to know them, and I really enjoyed the time we got to spend in that situation. And I thought he had a great sense of humor.”

Huh?

Is that the same coach whose exacting, stern, taskmaster style has been universally ripped by so many of his former players?

“That’s the unique thing about a public persona versus who a guy really is,” Mangini said. “I’ve enjoyed talking to him in the offseason and I think he’s an excellent coach. He’s been an excellent coach everywhere he’s been. I like his approach and his attention to detail.

“You know, maybe he’ll be doing some things at the Improv, I don’t know” ‘Coughlin-Mangini, one night only.’ Can we get that on pay-per-view? I think it’s going to be big. You heard it here first.”

Asked if he and Coughlin talked about any funny Bill Parcells stories, Mangini said, “I don’t know how many funny Parcells stories there are.”

*

Injury report: S Erik Coleman didn’t practice with what was described unclearly as a head injury. It’s not known if that means a headache, abrasion or concussion. Players who were limited in practice included Pennington (ankle), CB Andre Dyson (foot), NT Dewayne Robertson (knee) and S Eric Smith (thigh). Those who practiced full but are on the list are FB Darian Barnes (shoulder), CB David Barrett (thigh), LB David Bowens (hand), WR Jerricho Cotchery (shoulder), RB Thomas Jones (calf), TE Joe Kowalewski (shoulder) and RG Brandon Moore (shoulder).

The Jets yesterday replaced backup LB Cody Spencer, who was placed on the non-football illness list Tuesday, with WR/KR David Clowney from the Packers’ practice squad. Speedy Clowney, who’s on the 53-man roster, is from Virginia Tech, a fifth-round pick by the Packers.