US News

AT LEAST ONE WINNER IN $330M MEGA DRAW

There’s at least one winning ticket in last night’s $330 million Mega Millions lottery.

The Maryland Lottery said early today that a ticket sold at a liquor store in Baltimore County was a winner.

Meanwhile, New Yorkers and people across the nation were checking their tickets to find out if they shared a piece of the pie.

The winning numbers appear on the image to the right.

The drawing was doing huge business yesterday, with the lure of a second-largest-ever payout, sending money-hungry New Yorkers crowding around lottery machines.

“I just want to win,” said Abby Jones, 29, a secretary from The Bronx. “I need to go on vacation and pay my bills. I don’t need all of it. I just need a little piece of the pie.”

The supersized pot had New Yorkers dreaming of exotic vacations, new homes and, in one case, kids.

“I’d buy a house and have kids,” said Jesse McGrath, 34, of Brooklyn. “I’d love to have children, but right now I can’t afford it.”

Sonny Dao, a 29-year-old contractor from Queens, said some of his winnings would be spent to take his boss’ job. “I would buy my own company, so my boss can work for me,” he said on line to buy a ticket for last night’s drawing.

The jackpot jumped to $330 million thanks to 16 straight drawings without a Mega Millions winner.

At times during the day yesterday, more than $1 million in tickets were being sold every hour.