NFL

DISGRUNTLED KENDALL PLAYS GUARD, CENTER

There was more offensive line drama yesterday at Jets camp.

After struggling Adrien Clarke started at left guard but rotated with Pete Kendall in Friday’s 37-20 preseason loss to the Vikings, the disgruntled Kendall got more reps with the starters yesterday than Clarke. Kendall’s unwanted work as the backup center continues, as does his beef with Eric Mangini, whom he still hasn’t spoken to.

“I’m getting whatever he supposedly says from you guys. All they say is this is what you’re doing,” said Kendall, who split first-team reps with rookie Jacob Bender yesterday. “As much as I know where his office is, he knows where my locker is. It’s worked to this point, not talking: I don’t see any reason for it to change.”

When asked about the logic of the Jets having Kendall play center – a position he struggled at in 2005 – Kendall said, “As I said, I thought this experiment’s been tried and the results were in. It is what it is: If I’m not good enough to be a starter here, I won’t be here. I’m comfortable with who I am and how I play, and if they’re not, they’re not.”

Bender was drafted as a tackle, but after struggling against speed-rushers the sixth-round pick from Nicholls State is being tried at guard.

*

Mangini put his Jets through a 21/2-hour practice in the wake of Friday’s sloppy loss, which was lowlighted by poor tackling and a pair of Chad Pennington interceptions. He praised backup quarterback Kellen Clemens‘ progress, but added he had no regrets about naming Pennington the starter with no open competition.

“No, not at all. I’m very comfortable with that decision,” Mangini said. “Chad’s had an outstanding camp. There were a couple of throws he’d like to have back.”

*

Danny Ware had 11 carries for 45 yards Friday and Tony Hollings rushed just twice, but Mangini cautioned against reading into that. He said he just wanted to balance out playing time from the week before, but that the third-string running backs would have to compete via special teams with the backup defensive backs for roster spots.

*

Corner Drew Coleman (leg) returned to practice, as did tight end Joe Kowalewski. . . . Justin McCareins made a highlight catch on a high throw by Pennington, and Laveranues Coles made the grab of the day, a tumbling reception on the sidelines.