US News

BLE$$INGS ON A GOOD FRIDAY; STORES SCORE BIG AS SHOPPING SEASON STARTS OFF WITH A BANG

Millions of crazed Christmas shoppers stormed retailers across the city and the nation yesterday to take advantage of the wee-morning store hours and spectacular sales – making it one of the strongest starts to the holiday season in years.

The National Retail Federation is predicting that sales this holiday season will rise a whopping 5 percent from last year – to $457 billion.

“Consumers were thinking that there were some really good values out there and they better get into the stores early,” said Marshall Cohen, senior analyst with the NPD Group.

It was absolute madness as those shoppers, armed with lists, circulars and cash to burn, lined up outside stores in the city before dawn to snag the cheapest deals on electronics, toys and clothes.

The Toys “R” Us in Times Square, one of the earliest stores to open, offered major post-Thanksgiving sales, which drew a particularly anxious crowd. Many came to be among the first to grab Dora the Explorer, Bratz dolls and Nintendo systems and games.

It turned into a full stampede when the doors flew open at 6, with customers leaving boxes in their wake as they made a beeline for the toys they wanted.

“I was on line since 4:30. I’m ready to spend big money – like I’m rich!” said Sabrina Kohles, 19, from Manhattan.

Eileen Maya, 34, was also ready to max out her plastic.

“I have no limit, it’s for my kids. I’m doing my shopping and my mother-in-law’s shopping,” said Maya, who had three bags stuffed with Bratz dolls, and many more items left on her list.

Some were left disappointed after waiting for hours in the cold for a Nintendo Wii gaming system. A Toys “R” Us employee announced, after the store opened yesterday, that it did not have any in stock.

“I don’t do the online-shopping thing. I took the subway here from Brooklyn to be here at 5. I came for the Nintendo Wii. I thought they’d have it, and they don’t. I waited for nothing,” said Barry Rockmoney, 23.

Inside, shoppers formed another line for the popular Elmo TMX.

At the Best Buy electronics store in Chelsea, customers were grabbing movies from huge buckets overflowing with cheap DVDs. But some came for bigger things – like flat-screen TVs.

Jackie Flanagan was searching for her husband, Joe, as she pushed her new Toshiba 56-inch TV along in a box that was bigger than her.

“I wanted a great big deal on a great big TV,” laughed Flanagan, 36, an assistant principal. “This was originally $1,999, and I got it for $1,199!”

Mad shopper Rosa Bonito, 52, was struggling to balance 50 DVDs in her arms as she waited for a cashier to ring them up.

“I have a Circuit City circular here, and Best Buy is price matching what’s in there,” Bonito said. “I have about 50 DVDs here – a few seasons of “Seinfeld,” the movie “Crash,” a “Desperate Housewives” game. I’ll spend whatever it takes.”

Inside the Herald Square Macy’s, people navigated a sea of red holiday-themed shopping bags. One group of women bought so many goodies, they had to call a friend with a van to pick them up.

“I spent $2,500 and saved about $1,000. I got a Tag five-piece luggage set for $49.99, which was originally $200. I bought comforters, a DVD plasma TV, perfume and jackets,” said Salwa Umaya, 31, who works at the W Hotel.

Umaya and her sister Sharifa Karimu, 37, from Manhattan, joined the line outside the store at 5 a.m.

Elaine Hind, 33, an accountant from England, arrived an hour later.

“I’m glad I came early, right when the store opened. I’m getting gifts to bring home. I have after-shave, shoes, a giant Snoopy doll, Hugo Boss shirts and Adidas tops so far,” Hind said. “I’ve been saving with discount cards – but I’m not done.”

A few stores will continue their deep discounts through the weekend, including J&R, where a Panasonic 58-inch plasma TV is $3,199, down from $3,399, and a Panasonic 5-megapixel camera is $149.99, down from $299.

At Roosevelt Mall in Garden City, L.I., shoppers began their day as early as 8 a.m. Long lines quickly formed outside the more popular stores, including Abercrombie & Fitch and Victoria’s Secret.

Nicole Bennardo, 21, from West Islip, appeared to have a bag stuffed with very personal Victoria’s Secret items – but said she was shopping for her whole family.

“This is a tradition. Coming out the day after Thanksgiving, getting up early, it starts off the Christmas season for me. I wouldn’t miss it.”

Her sister, Justine, 18, added, “We’re here to shop till we drop!”

Erica Damitropoulos, 15, of Whitestone, arrived as the mall opened at 8 a.m. sharp. Although the bargains were a big draw, she said, she came mainly for “the Christmas spirit and seeing all of the decorations and music.”

Marissa Caradonna, 20, and her mom, Shari, 48, of Levittown, sat amid a scattering of shopping bags. “We did all this damage in two hours,” Shari said. “And we’re just getting started. It’s a thrill to be out with all these people.”

Asked whether she was ready to call it a day, she said, “We’re never too tired to shop. Are you serious?”

QUOTES – VOX POP

‘I spent $200 and saved another $200.’

– Antoinette Jackson, 30, Manhattan

‘I started at 5 a.m. at KB [Toys]. I’m here to get Little Mermaid, Sponge- Bob, Elmo and Bratz for my son and nieces and nephews. ‘ – Ann Cruz, M

‘I’m glad I came early, right when the store opened. I’m getting gifts to bring home. I have after-shave, shoes, a giant Snoopy doll, Hugo Boss shirts and Adidas tops so far.

– Elaine Hind, 33, from England

‘So far, I have four shirts and three ties, but I’m not done. I’ll be here until about noon. I have friends coming to

shop, too.

– Kirk Langton, 41, from Trinidad

‘I was on line outside at 6 . . . I saved almost half. I have to carry all these bags to work now.

– Ramona Nunez, 30, Manhattan

‘I’m supposed to be buying gifts, but it’s my 21st birthday, so I’m buying for myself. I got here at 6 . . . I’m maxing out

my credit card. ‘

– Carmel Lynch, 21, from England

‘I spent $2,500 and saved about $1,000. I got a Tag five-piece luggage set for $49.99, which was originally $200.

– Salwa Umaya, 31, who works at the W Hotel

‘I am getting two Dirt Devils, they’re only $35 each. I cook, so I got a rice cooker for $19.99.

– Esteban Salde, 30, Manhattan