Entertainment

‘SEX’ STAR MOVES INTO A ‘STUDIO’

EVAN Handler scored a breakout role as schlubby Harry Goldenblatt, the attorney who married Kristin Davis’s Charlotte on “Sex and the City.” Now, Handler’s back on TV, costarring with Matthew Perry as a comedy writer on in NBC’s “Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip.” The cancer survivor is now married to Italian biochemist Elisa Atti. They are expecting their first child.

NYP: You and Elisa fell in love the same year as Harry and Charlotte.

Evan Handler: That was a fantasy year.

NYP: The whole joke about Harry hinged on him being too ugly for Charlotte. Did that hurt?

EH: The breakdown described Harry as “boorish and unattractive.” I was like, “Should I be happy they’re thinking of me? Or upset?” NYP: You grew up in Westchester County.

EH: Yes, but my brother and I would come to NewYork for baseball games.

NYP: Mets or Yankees?

EH: When I was nine, it was the Mets. Cleon Jones catching the final out of the 1969 World Series.

I remember it vividly.

NYP: When did you first move to the city?

EH: 1979. I lived on 2nd Avenue and 6th Street. The windows overlooked the Indian restaurants. I used to wake up with a light sheen of vindaloo on one side of my face.