Sports

ENDY IN STARTING ROLE NOW

Cliff Floyd was placed on the 15-day DL yesterday, which means that Endy Chavez will likely be the Mets’ starting left fielder for the next two weeks.

Chavez, invaluable this season coming off the bench, got his ninth start in left last night and was a vital part of the Mets’ 4-3 win against the Padres. Chavez went 3-for-3 with a run scored and knocked in another with an RBI single in the third inning.

“Endy is what he is,” Willie Randolph said. “He’s a good, solid backup guy.

He’s going to play a little bit, but I’m not looking at it as playing him any more.

“We want to make sure everyone stays in the mix.” In terms of finding an every-day replacement for Floyd, Randolph can talk as much as he wants about rotating guys in, but he’d be hard pressed to find a more dependable replacement than Chavez.

“I’m not going to change nothing,” said Chavez, who has reached base safely in 12 of 14 starts and is batting .299 for the year. “If they call me, I’m going to play. If they don’t, I’m still going to be on the same team. I’m feeling really comfortable at the plate. I’m trying to keep it that way and stay consistent.” While Chavez provides stability in left, the Mets are watching their other corner outfielder, Lastings Milledge, begin to struggle in right as he navigates his way through his first real big-league slump.

Milledge, zero for his last six and 2-for-17 on the current homestand, was booed again last night when he struck out swinging in the seventh with two out and two on following a Chavez single with a chance to pile it on. In the fifth, Chavez was intentionally walked so the Padres could get to Milledge, who struck out.

Prior to the game, Milledge said he doesn’t mind that the home fans have turned so quickly on him. Milledge, of course, shared high-fives with the crowd after his first majorleague home run earlier this summer.

“I haven’t really been getting the job done like I’m supposed to,” Milledge said.

“It’s not just me. Anyone that’s not getting the job done, they’re going to let you know about it. They’re not just out for me.”