Sports

SLUMPING FLOYD GETS 2ND CHANCE

MET NOTES

PHILADELPHIA – Cliff Floyd was the Mets’ new No. 2 hitter last night against the Phillies.

Floyd, who hit a team-best 34 homers last year, is a surprising player to put in that spot. But Floyd had been having a terrible season batting fifth or sixth.

“I just think that it’s something to just get me going hopefully,” Floyd said yesterday before the game.

Floyd had not hit second in nearly eight years, the previous occasion coming Sept. 2, 1998 when he was a Marlin, according to the Elias Sports Bureau. This was his 49th career game in the two-spot, and his average there was .265 with two homers and 21 RBIs, according to Elias.

The Mets’ usual No. 2 hitter this year had been Paul Lo Duca, but he did not start last night. Kazuo Matsui, Chris Woodward and Anderson Hernandez each hit second this year, as well. Floyd had hit only fifth or sixth.

Floyd entered last night batting .191 with three homers and two doubles. He said yesterday that being in his last season before free agency isn’t the reason behind the slump.

“No, I might not even play,” he said. “I don’t know what the hell is going on. I don’t know. You never know. Playing like this, you think I can get a job? If you were a GM, would you sign me? I don’t know what the hell will happen, but I ain’t worried about it.”

*

Willie Randolph said Brian Bannister will not be making a simulated start today and instead will make it tomorrow.

“I think they’re going to push him back to Saturday,” Randolph said. “They’re not quite ready, from what I heard, to put him on the mound.”

Bannister is out with a strained right hamstring. Randolph said, “I didn’t hear anything about a setback.”

*

Wednesday night, Jose Valentin walked during his pinch-hitting appearance, his first walk of the season. Entering last night, he was batting .172 (5-for-29) with one RBI and no extra-base hits.