Sports

FOULKE: I WON’T ROCK BOAT

Keith Foulke has been supplanted by Jonathan Papelbon as the closer in the Red Sox bullpen, but that doesn’t mean Terry Francona has forgotten about the right-hander.

“I have so much confidence in Foulke, especially to get out left-handers,” the Red Sox manager said before last night’s game at the Stadium. “To have a guy like that in the middle of your bullpen is so valuable.”

Foulke used to be the valuable cog at the end of the bullpen. He was as important as anyone else in Boston’s run to the 2004 title – including six shutout innings against the Yanks in the ALCS. Last year was not nearly as successful for Foulke, who battled injuries in both knees and never found his form.

And while he’s not as dominant as he was two years ago, Foulke has recovered from off-season arthroscopic surgery on his right knee and has pitched well this year.

“I’ve said it before and I mean it,” Foulke said. “I don’t care when they use me, as long as I’m pitching well.”

As for his successor, Foulke has been impressed with the 25-year-old.

“He’s shown us a lot,” Foulke said. “It doesn’t matter who they are using back there. If they are doing the job, that’s fine with me.”

So far, Papelbon has. He entered last night’s game having converted 12 of 13 save opportunities since stepping into the role.

“I think it helps Keith a lot, having Papelbon and [Mike] Timlin there behind him,” Francona said. “They are his protection. Not that he needs protection, but it’s good that they are there.”

The ability to use Foulke before the ninth inning gives Boston’s bullpen a different look.

“Not a lot of teams can throw someone like Keith out there in the earlier innings,” Francona said, “someone who has had his success and experience.”

It seems to be working. After suffering through a 2004 season when he had only 15 saves and a 5.91 ERA, Foulke is 2-1 with a 3.80 ERA this year.

“I feel a lot better and I know Terry believes in me,” Foulke said. “If they need me to fill in [as a closer], I will. But I’m happy with the way things are going.”