Entertainment

NO ‘VIEW’ ON OPENING AT NBC

ANYONE who was unaware of Katie Couric’s big news yesterday wouldn’t have heard about it on “The View” – because it wasn’t mentioned.

At all. Nada. Zilch.

The show that features a daily “Hot Topics” segment studiously avoided any reference to yesterday’s hottest topic – Couric’s jump to CBS, which she announced on “Today” 3 ½ hours earlier.

Was this because “View” co-host Meredith Vieira, 52, is rumored to be thisclose to signing a $40 million deal to replace Couric on “Today”?

A spokesman for “The View” had no comment yesterday, and it remains to be seen if Vieira and her “View” compatriots will discuss Couric.

But the strain could be getting to the show’s den mother, Barbara Walters, who’s on “The View” several times a week (she was off yesterday).

Walters said on Tuesday’s show that she’s been having trouble falling asleep, perhaps indicating stress.

“Sunday night I . . . had lots on my mind, so I got very little sleep on Monday,” Walters said on Tuesday’s show. “So last night, I thought, I’m going to take a sleeping pill – one of those prescription pills. So I took one . . . I had my soup and I woke up at about 5:30, 6 o’clock in my bed.”