Sports

HILL OF A DAY FOR GLAVINE

Tom Glavine knows he’s not getting any younger. But the 40-year-old feels he’s still getting better, and he has the arsenal – and numbers – to prove it.

Glavine, today’s Opening Day starter for the Mets, endured a miserable first half in 2005 that caused many to question whether he was washed up. His unsightly 4.94 ERA before the All-Star break forced him to make summertime adjustments, and he began utilizing a curveball and throwing inside more.

The veteran lefty enjoyed a second-half renaissance (7-6, 2.22 ERA after the break) to finish with a 13-13 record and a 3.53 ERA, and he’s confident he’ll carry the momentum through to this year.

“There’s a lot of things I can bring out to the mound with me that I didn’t necessarily bring out with me last year,” Glavine said. “There are basic things that I try to do to be successful, and that’s the foundation of my game plan.

“I feel like I can make a lot more adjustments than I could a year ago. I feel I can get certain guys out different ways than I could a year ago.

“It’s just going out there with more weapons and more variations than I have in the past. And it’s been fun to get to that point.”

Glavine has done everything – and won everything – in Major League Baseball. For instance, this will be his seventh career Opening Day nod, and his third in four seasons with the Mets. He’s getting the start this year because Pedro Martinez wasn’t healthy and stretched out in time, but nobody seems concerned.

“The way we feel when Pedro’s pitching, that’s the same way we feel when Glavine’s pitching,” Carlos Beltran said.

Glavine gets nervous before every start, but the normally placid vet will be especially fidgety this morning. He isn’t sure he’s ever seen anything like Opening Day at Shea.

“It’s pretty special,” Glavine said. “There’s 50,000-plus people, everybody’s having a great time and they’re into it.

“There’s a lot of adrenaline, a lot of excitement. You know they’ve been waiting all year long to see their team take the field – especially this year with everything we’ve done.

“We know the fans are excited about the team we’re putting on the field. So it’s a fun time.”