Sports

THERE’S NO TIMEOUT FOR BRODEUR’S KNEE

NASHVILLE – He’s going to the Olympics, but somewhere there might be a Devils official wishing Martin Brodeur would stay home and give his still ailing knee three weeks’ healing.

Brodeur suffered a right knee sprain Oct. 26 and sat out six straight games. When he returned, he didn’t seem like a two-time reigning Vezina Trophy winner.

Lately, however, some familiar aspects of the Brodeur of old have returned.

Brodeur and the Devils had won seven straight as they wound up a three-game road trip against the Predators here last night. He had allowed only 11 goals in that stretch, all coming in four of those games since he also had notched his first three shutouts of the year in those seven.

The shutouts area is a strong indicator that he’s regaining his form, while some of the other games show there’s still a way to go.

It’s nearing three months since that injury, suffered against Tampa Bay, and Brodeur says the time has helped.

“I feel as good as I have [since],” the 33-year-old said.

Then he added the words that must concern the Devils.

“Once in a while I feel it still,” Brodeur said.

“I think it’s going to be there until I really rest it.”

The Devils’ surge to the .500 mark they brought into last night had its most obvious roots in the return of Patrik Elias. And then there’s the hot streak of Scott Gomez. And perhaps even Lou Lamoriello’s presence on the bench had an effect.

But they aren’t likely to go anywhere if Brodeur isn’t at the top of his game.

Brodeur seemed to have favored that right knee for a while after he returned from injury. It’s less noticable now.

“I didn’t ever think about not doing some of the things I did before,” Brodeur said. “But when I’m moving across to the [left wing] post, my body automatically hits the host, and that’s how I got hurt in then first place.

“I spoke to [goalie coach Jacques Caron] and we decided I have to find another way to get to that position.”

Brodeur was to be in goal for the ninth straight game last night, 20th of 21 and 30th of 32. He hasn’t been getting any rest since his return, and the February break could have helped.

He’d be regarded almost a traitor in Canada if he were to stay home, but it is the Devils who pay his salary. It’s a dilemma, compounded by the fact that he probably won’t be at his best, because he hasn’t had time to fully heal.