Sports

CAVS’ MALONE: KNICKS STIFFED ME

KNICK NOTES

CLEVELAND – Cavaliers assistant coach Mike Malone, the lone Knicks staffer not retained by Larry Brown when he took over as head coach last summer, said he had a “sour ending” with the Knicks.

Malone said he never received a phone call from the team after being let go.

“After four years of busting my butt, when Larry Brown was hired I’m not saying they owed me a job, but I deserved a phone call from Isiah [Thomas] or Larry,” Malone said. “I got nothing. I’ve never said two words to Larry Brown.”

Malone said he still reported to work for several days after Brown’s hire.

“I deserved the courtesy,” said Malone, who added that Gregg Popovich helped him get his current job.

*

Brown was LeBron James’ boss in Athens during the 2004 Olympics and came close to being his superior again last spring.

During the 2004 Eastern Finals between the Pistons and Heat, Brown, his health then a major issue, held talks with the Cavaliers about becoming their president while still being able to live in Philadelphia. But when Brown and the Pistons moved on to the Finals, the Cavs couldn’t wait any longer and hired Danny Ferry. James even thinks Brown was being considered for the head coaching spot.

“There was an opportunity for him,” James told Ohio writers yesterday. “There was some talk about him being the GM or coach. I think we’re satisfied with the guy we got.”

*

Who will guard James (30.6 ppg, 6.5 rebounds, 5.8 assists) tonight?

New starting SF David Lee doesn’t have quick enough feet and Trevor Ariza was embarrassed last season. Quentin Richardson might be the best choice. Ariza is out of the doghouse, with two solid games since Brown called him “delusional.”

However, Ariza wants no part of another war of words with Brown. “I’m just here to play,” he said. “I’m not going to comment on that. I’ll leave that alone. I’ll stay away from that. [Playing well] is the only way to get back in his good graces.”

*

Jamal Crawford (sprained foot) may miss his third straight tonight.