Sports

U.S. OPEN CHAMP THUMPED

GOLF NOTES

Upset but still upbeat, sixth-seed “Bunker” Birdie Kim failed to follow up her U.S. Women’s Open triumph, a first-round victim yesterday of 59th-rated Sophie Gustafson at the Women’s World Match Play championship.

“She was much longer than me,” Kim said of Gustafson, who won 1-up. “Today I hit the ball pretty good. I just didn’t make the putt.”

Kim said she enjoyed what she called her second journey into match play, despite leaving with only the $5,000 given each first-round loser at Hamilton Farm in Gladstone, N.J.

“I just had fun,” Kim said. “I like match play. . . . Each hole is a contest.”

Kim jumped to sixth from 66th on the money list with her U.S. Open crown, earning her short-lived berth here.

*

Fifth-seed Natalie Gulbis was another upset victim, knocked out on the final hole by No. 60 Marisa Baena . . . No. 15 Laura Davies, a Commander in the Order of the British Empire, fell 5 and 4 to California native Kim Saiki, seeded 50th . . . No. 9 Catriona Matthew lost to 56th-seed A.J. Eathorne in 21 holes . . . No. 12 Lorie Kane was eliminated by No. 53 Beth Daniel, 5 and 4, and No. 17 Se Ri Pak was beaten by No. 48 Rachel Hetherington, 2-up.

*

Julie Inkster, 45, faces Japanese flash Ai Miyazato in the second round today. No. 11 Inkster ousted Sung Ah Yim, while Miyazato, No. 43, upset No. 22 Laura Diaz. Just 20, Miyazato won the Women’s World Cup in South Africa this year.

“She’s kind of the next coming since Ayako Okamoto in Japan,” Inkster said. “I know she’s a good player.”

Miyazato had a sizable gallery following her yesterday, and Inkster reflected on what it would be like trying to break in against the current Kiddie Korps.

“All I know is, I’m glad I’m at the tail end of my career, not just starting,” said the Hall of Famer and winner of seven majors. “I don’t think half of them know who I am.”

Although she won 2-and-1 against Diaz, Miyazato said she took control on “maybe the fourth hole.”

“I am very proud,” Miyazato said.