US News

TEENS SHOT AT B’KLYN PLAYGROUND

Gunfire at a Brooklyn playground yesterday left two teenagers wounded and sent young kids running for cover, police said.

The shots rang out at about 4:30 p.m. in the playground near IS 196 at the intersection of Covert Street and Evergreen Avenue in Bushwick.

The shots “woke me up,” said a 35-year-old man, who heard at least 10 shots.

“I heard the kids running. You could hear them screaming,” said the man, who asked not to be identified. “I didn’t look out the window right away; I’m not running to the window when I hear shots, so I waited.

“When I looked out, I saw the kids running and I saw the guy laying there, moaning. He was moving, but he just kept moaning.”

The victims were a 17-year-old hit in the back and a 19-year-old shot in the leg.

They were taken to Kings County Hospital with non-life threatening injuries.

It was not clear who fired the shots.