US News

MAYOR ENTERTAINS IOC COMMITTEE

Mayor Bloomberg had a good ol’ time entertaining the International Olympic Committee evaluation team – perhaps a little too good. By his own admission, the mayor overdid it a bit in the wine department while hosting a dinner for his Olympic guests Wednesday night.

The topic came up on Bloomberg’s weekly WABC radio show yesterday, when host John Gambling noted it was Academy Award time and asked the mayor to name the last movie he had seen. Bloomberg, not much of a TV or movie fan, finally recalled going to “Sideways,” set in the California wine country. “I was thinking about it. I had much too much to drink the other night,” he confessed.

“I had a great time with the Olympians and I probably had one extra glass of red that I didn’t need. I’d rather drink the wine than watch a movie about it, but it was nice.”