Sports

SERBY’S SUNDAY Q&A WITH …DAVID WRIGHT

The Post’s Steve Serby chatted with the Mets’ phenom third baseman about life in the bigs, the future Mrs. Wright and a few of his favorite things.

Q: Describe your ideal mate.

A: I’m a brunette guy. Dark hair. Very athletic. Very intelligent. Bubbly personality. Somebody who makes me laugh.

Q: How many marriage proposals do you get in a week?

A: (Laughs). A couple. It’s always funny looking in the stands and seeing some of the posters. I have to pinch myself. It’s like a dream.

Q: What’s the funniest poster you’ve seen?

A: There was a little girl at Shea last year, she couldn’t have been more than 10-11 years old. She had a sign that said, “David, will you marry me?” And then in parentheses, “In eight or nine years.”

Q: How will you handle it if Anna Benson comes on to you?

A: (Laughs). I’ve gotten a chance to talk to Anna a couple of times. She seems like a fun person to talk to.

Q: Will you ask Mrs. Piazza to fix you up?

A: (Laughs). Absolutely. I’ll have to get in good with her. Maybe she can put a good word in with a couple of her friends.

Q: Will you read Jose Canseco’s book?

A: I’ll glance through it.

Q: Were you ever tempted to use steroids?

A: Absolutely not. I told myself, when and if I made it to the big leagues, I would make it on my own. I didn’t want illegal help.

Q: Toughest pitcher you’ve faced?

A: Randy Johnson. He’s so tall it looks like the ball’s almost coming from the sky.

Q: How’d you do against him?

A: Oh-for-3. I got robbed of a hit, struck out and flied to right.

Q: With such a buzz about the New Mets, what will it be like playing in front of 40,000 Shea fans?

A: The ultimate adrenaline rush. When that place gets rocking, it feels like it’s shaking. Sends chills down your spine.

Q: Favorite Manhattan spot?

A: I’ve become addicted to the food, from Tao to Smith and Wollensky. I love walking around. I’m moving into the city.

Q: Will you have a sports motif?

A: There’ll be some memorabilia. I got some things signed last year – Jim Thome, Chipper Jones, Piazza – I enjoy watching the great hitters.

Q: You missed the Subway Series last year.

A: That’s one thing I’m looking forward to.

Q: You’ve never been to Yankee Stadium. Will you visit the monuments?

A: I’ll definitely be taking the tour.

Q: Have you been to a Knick game yet?

A: I’m addicted. I’ve been to three. I’m a huge fan.

Q: Favorite players?

A: Jamal Crawford and Stephon Marbury.

Q: Who would you want to play you in a movie about your life?

A: Matt Damon. He’s way better looking than me. It might help me with the ladies.

Q: Your dad was a Met fan.

A: He admired the ’86 Mets. The other day I told him myself, Keith Hernandez, HoJo and a couple of other guys were gonna play golf. He got real jealous.

Q: Got a funny Pedro story yet?

A: I’m a big fan of his hair. If I could grow it, I would rock it like he does.

Q: Favorite childhood memory?

A: Playing Little League was the ultimate childhood memory. The game’s so pure. It’s just kids out there having fun. That’s the way I try to approach it now.

Q: One person in history you would like to meet.

A: The Founding Fathers.

Q: Three dinner guests.

A: President Bush. Michael Jordan. Babe Ruth.

Q: If I were president, I would …

A: Call all the leaders of the power countries and set some plan for a peaceful resolution to the war.

Q: Best piece of advice from your mother.

A: Have fun. Always smile.

Q: Best piece of advice from your father.

A: Don’t settle for second best.

Q: Pet peeve?

A: Players with unlimited potential that don’t have the work ethic.

Q: Most embarrassing moment?

A: (Laughs). Shea Stadium last year, nationally televised game, popup in the infield, dropped it. It was one of those, “I got it, I got it, I got it, I don’t got it.”

Q: Favorite movie?

A: Braveheart and The Godfather.

Q: Favorite actor?

A: DeNiro.

Q: Favorite actress?

A: Sandra Bullock.

Q: Favorite singer?

A: Linkin Park.

Q: Favorite book?

A: Cal Ripken’s autobiography.

Q: Favorite meal?

A: Any kind of Japanese steakhouse.