US News

BABY-BITE DOG OWNER OFF HOOK

The Bronx owner of the husky that attacked a 1-month-old baby, who was at first charged with reckless endangerment, is now cleared.

The Bronx District Attorney’s Office said there wasn’t enough evidence to make a case against Luis Martinez, 69. “This dog has no history of attacking people,” said DA spokesman Steven Reid.

The dog, Max, attacked little Steven Gibson Friday as the baby lay on a bed in the family’s apartment in Hunts Point. Steven’s mother had left.

The 6-year-old Siberian husky went into the bedroom and started to bite Steven’s inner thigh and genitals, cops said.

At his home yesterday, Martinez said he was devastated.

“I feel bad. He’s a child,” he said. “What do you think – I’m a beast? It’s just an accident. I was giving my love to the kid.”

Martinez said he suspected Max had attacked because of jealousy.

“I guess the dog did that because he was jealous, I took some love that I had for him, for the baby.”

“I feel real bad [for the baby], especially now they say he’s going to be handicapped.”

The dog is being held for rabies tests.