Sports

TORBOR’S TIME IS NOW – ROOKIE GETS RARE START

CHARLOTTE – If you want your rookies to be level-headed, conscientious players who listen more than they talk, then you want Reggie Torbor as one of your rookies.

The Giants are surely glad they have Torbor, who figured to be in their immediate plans even if a rash of injuries didn’t thrust him to the forefront.

The team envisioned Torbor as a situational pass-rusher, but last night he was more than that. Torbor made his first pro start at strong side linebacker, subbing for Carlos Emmons, as the Giants faced the Panthers in a preseason game at Bank of America Stadium.

Once Emmons heals from the broken left leg that has curtailed much of his training camp, Torbor will return being a reserve.

“I guess the opportunity is there for me, but at the same time what I’m able to do for this team is based on how much I can learn between now and the season,” Torbor said. “The other night was just a starting point. [It] let me know how much work I actually have to do to be the kind of player I want to be.”

“The other night” was his debut against the Chiefs, when Torbor made some mistakes, as rookies do, but also showed the aggression that attracted the Giants to him. In the second quarter, Torbor tracked down Chris Horn after a catch and slammed into him so hard that Horn’s helmet went flying.

“I laid into him pretty good. That was one of the highlights,” Torbor said.

The Giants scooped him up in the fourth round with an important pick, as it was the first selection on the second day of the draft. Many teams approached the Giants about trading away that pick, and while the Giants were tempted, they didn’t budge.

So far, Torbor comes as advertised. He’s better moving forward and attacking than he is retreating in pass coverage.

The Giants love the aggression, but not if it leads to mistakes. That’s one of the demands defensive coordinator Tim Lewis and linebackers coach Billy Davis reinforce to Torbor.

“Coach Lewis and Coach Davis tell me about controlling my aggression,” he said. “A lot of times I just want to hit people and run through ’em [and that’s when] I make mistakes.”

Reggie’s ready

Reggie Torbor File

Age: 23

Height: 6-2

Weight: 254 lbs.

Birthplace: Baton Rouge

College: Auburn

Acquired: Draft, 4th Round