Sports

ELI FINDS NEW FAN: KURT’S IMPRESSED

GIANT NOTES

CHARLOTTE – As he battles for the right to emerge as the Giants starting quarterback, Kurt Warner can’t help but be impressed with how rookie Eli Manning has handled everything thrown at him.

Manning made his pro starting debut last night in a preseason game against the Panthers, with Warner expected to come off the bench mid-way through the second quarter.

“He’s getting more and more comfortable,” Warner said of Manning. “Outside of the physical talents, I think he’s done a great job of picking up the offense. Smart, accurate – he’s just got the whole gamut. You come in as a rookie and that period takes a while to get oriented with everything, but I think he’s made a great transition.

“I see myself as competing for the job, no question, but I also see myself tutoring him in any way I can. Do I want to start, do I want to play? No question about it. Am I gonna help him whatever way I can regardless of the situation? No doubt about it.”

*

Starters who were not expected to play for the Giants: LB Carlos Emmons (leg), LB Nick Greisen (hamstring), LB Barrett Green (ankle, knee), TE Jeremy Shockey (foot), G Barry Stokes (gluteal strain), K Bill Gramatica (back) and DE Keith Washington (eye).

*

David Diehl started his second game at right tackle last night after starting all 16 games as a rookie last year at right guard. He was set to face a tough customer in Panthers DE Julius Peppers, but Diehl believed his work in training camp against Michael Strahan prepares him for every challenge.

“Getting to work against Michael every day is great for me and it will help me throughout the season,” Diehl said. “I have another great challenge ahead of me in Julius Peppers, who is a great defensive end. I’m going to go out there and compete and do my best and learn from this experience and watch film after this week and continue to try to get better.”

Asked if Strahan takes advantage of him in practice, Diehl cracked a wide smile. “He’s going to be a Hall of Famer,” Diehl said. “Of course he does. But it’s a huge bonus for me to work with a guy like that.”

*

The Giants expected a spirited environment last night, since this was the first home game for the Panthers since they beat the Cowboys in an NFC Wild Card game back in January.