Sports

MERCER INKS DEAL WITH NETS

The Nets officially announced the signing of Ron Mercer yesterday and GM Ed Stefanski said the newest Net would most likely fill the open starting shooting guard spot.

“He will compete immediately for the starting position at the two spot,” Stefanski said after Mercer signed a two-year deal worth $3.2 million. “Having lost Kerry Kittles, Ron’s a great addition.”

Mercer, who played sparingly for the Spurs last season, was hampered by an ankle injury that reduced both his playing time (13.2 minutes per game) and scoring (5.0 points per game). He has averaged 13.5 ppg during his seven-year career.

With the absence of Kittles, the Nets have practically guaranteed that Mercer’s minutes will skyrocket.

“Lawrence [Frank] never promised me anything,” Mercer said. “The opportunity will be there as long as I do what I’m capable of doing. I’ve showed I can do different things. I don’t only have to score . . . I don’t have to replace anybody. I don’t have to be anybody.”

Last season, Mercer developed fluid in his left ankle, a condition that usually occurs after a sprain.

“I had trouble moving. There’s no problem at all now,” said Mercer, who underwent X-rays and an MRI.

“Everything came up perfect,” Stefanski said.

Mercer, meanwhile, said he’s ready to show the Nets the rust is gone from last year’s inactivity.

“There’s a lot of built up frustration,” Mercer said. “But that’s only gonna help me. I’m gonna be ready.”

Mercer said “five or six” teams were interested in his services, but he chose the Nets because of the opportunity for increased playing time and his relationship with Frank that has lasted since Mercer’s high school days.

“I’ve known him for a long time,” Mercer said. “He recruited me in high school [when with University of Tennessee]. He made the decision easy for me.”