US News

CRAZED MAN SLASHES PAIR AT SEARS

An off-duty subway motorman went berserk and slashed two people in a Sears auto store in Brooklyn just moments after he’d hopped into a parked patrol car and ranted to cops that he was being stalked, law-enforcement sources said.

“Irrationally acting” 11-year-transit veteran Lee Huggins, 39, leaped into the back seat of the police cruiser in Flatbush around 1 p.m. Thursday and announced, “Somebody is trying to get me. Save me. Help me,” said law-enforcement sources.

The mortified motorman then scrambled out of the cruiser and tried to run into the Sears department store on Bedford Street, but was stopped by a security guard.

So Huggins ran across the street to the Sears auto annex, where he pulled out a pocketknife and began swinging randomly at startled customers.

First he slashed Jean Champagne, 41, across the neck, then he got store manager George Williams, 41.

“I heard all this commotion in the store, so I opened my office door and there he was,” Williams told The Post.

“He was a pretty big guy. He was screaming, ‘Help me, help me.’

“I asked what’s wrong, and he swung the knife at me. I didn’t even know he cut my ear yet. Luckily I ducked and pushed him into the office and locked the door,” Williams said as he displayed the five stitches behind his left ear.

“We called the police and left him in there until they came,” Williams said.