Sports

A-ROD:BUCK’SNO BUD

YANKEE NOTES

ARLINGTON – It wasn’t a secret Buck Showalter and Alex Rodriguez weren’t close during their days in Rangers uniforms. Yesterday, hours before A-Rod played his first game back in Texas since being dealt to the Yankees, A-Rod admitted the relationship wasn’t a friendly one.

Told Showalter said on the radio he considered A-Rod a friend, the Yankees third baseman was asked if he thought of Showalter as a friend.

“A friend? No,” A-Rod said. “I wouldn’t say a friend. I don’t have a lot of friends. But he was the manager and I respected him. Just like Lou Piniella, Johnny Oates, Jerry Narron and Joe Torre. They are the manager and I respect them.”

When the Rodriguez-to-Boston deal fell apart last winter, A-Rod and Showalter had a meeting. “We had our differences (last year) and we settled them,” A-Rod said. “His philosophies were different than my philosophies. But he was the manager and I was ready to play for him.”

Showalter’s micromanaging has worn out several players through the years and is something Torre doesn’t adhere to.

“Joe has different philosophies,” A-Rod said. “He lets veteran players be creative. (Showalter) wasn’t a good fit but I was ready to put it behind me.”

*

Kenny Lofton started in center last night and Bernie Williams was on the bench with Jason Giambi as the DH for the third straight game.