Sports

THREE’S A CROWD – DEKE’S KNICK RETURN WILL CREATE CENTER JAM

When Dikembe Mutombo returns next week, the Knicks will have three centers.

Indeed, they’ll have a rotisserie of centers – Mutombo, Vin Baker and Nazr Mohammed.

The Knicks didn’t have one true center at all last season, forced to use Kurt Thomas. Now they have three capable starters.

So what does Lenny Wilkens do? Not even he knows yet.

“We’ll have a lot of fouls to use,” Wilkens said. “I’ve never had three centers before. I don’t know. We’ll see. Vince can play some ‘4.’ Those are things you deal with when they come. It’s better than none.”

Mutombo, who attended his first game last night since his lower abdominal surgery two weeks ago, said he will visit the doctor tomorrow for clearance and hopes to be on the practice court Monday.

Mutombo said he hopes to play next week.

“I have to build myself up,” he said. “When playing at our level, you’re going this way up. When you stop, your momentum goes down. I have to build my stamina after sitting and laying in the bed, looking at television. I got tired of sitting home.”

Team President Isiah Thomas said Mutombo will still be a factor when he returns but it’s just words now.

“I haven’t heard from nobody yet,” said a skeptical Mutombo, who had been demoted before the surgery.

“We can’t force him to get back before he’s ready,” Wilkens said of Mutombo. “It’s a little difficult to run. He’s the one experiencing it and can go up and down without any problem.”

Last night against the Wizards, Mohammed may have made his last start, as Baker appears primed to take his job. The Baker Experiment is making Thomas look good again. In just a few days, Baker, of all things, has turned into mentor for Mohammed.

During yesterday’s morning shoot-around, Mohammed came up to Baker and asked him about a post move he saw Baker make on the game film from Sunday’s win in Milwaukee.

“I asked what he does to create that space,” Mohammed said. “He showed me this morning, the post-up move to the middle.”

Mohammed was benched the entire second half in favor of Baker as the Knicks roared back from 26 points down.

“He knows our offense but he’s just young,” Wilkens said. “He doesn’t have experience as Baker but we’ll keep playing him and encouraging him to grow.”

Asked about he benching, Wilkens said, “That’s because we were trying to win the game. Don’t read anything into it. I started Vin because of his experience. It carried through. We had chance to win it.”

Wilkens said he hopes Mohammed can learn the position from Baker. “I’m grateful to help,” Baker said. “Nazr’s young but he’s going to be a good player for along time. Anything I can help young players with I definitely will help him. There’s no discomfort. Nazr and I understand it’s about the Knicks.”

Wilkens recently named Mohammed starter for the rest of the season, but that was pre-Baker. Mohammed isn’t angry about the potential change.

“We’re in a situation where every game counts,” he said. “If anyone can help, coach has to play him. Not really worried about minutes. I’m a guy who played 17 minutes a game in Atlanta. I’m not going to worry because I didn’t play enough minutes one night. I don’t think I have reason to be upset.”