Sports

MALONE IN CRASH AFTER GETTING AXE

Two hours after being dismissed as a Knicks assistant coach, Brendan Malone was involved in a car accident on his way back to his Westchester home Wednesday night. Malone’s black Lincoln Navigator was totaled, and his wife, Maureen, bumped her head on the steering wheel, according to sources.

Brendan’s daughter, Kelly, and grandson, Thomas, also were in the car. Ambulances rushed to the scene, but the passengers were examined and were not taken to the hospital.

“A bad night got worse,” said Mike Malone, Brendan’s son who, to date, has been retained on the Knicks’ staff and was Herb Williams’ top assistant in Wednesday’s victory over Orlando.

The crash occurred on the snowy Saw Mill Parkway when a driver rear-ended Brendan Malone’s car. Maureen Malone was driving and suffered from headaches yesterday, she said.

“It sounded like an explosion in the car,” Brendan Malone said.

Brendan Malone had shown up to the Garden with his family on Wednesday for the game, not knowing Isiah Thomas was about to fire him along with Don Chaney and assistant Lon Kruger. Thomas’ handling of the very public firing in front of a slew of media has drawn criticism.

“I think I understand it, but I wish they would’ve called me not to come, then I wouldn’t have gotten into this accident,” Malone said. “We were an afterthought, but there were circumstances.”

There was speculation Malone would take over for Chaney because he was Thomas’ top assistant in Indiana and first coach in Toronto.

“I’m disappointed I didn’t get an opportunity if they were going to make a move,” Malone said. “Isiah talked about having assistant coaches on his list, but he had two in place in me and Lon Kruger who could’ve done the job.

“I would’ve liked to see him be more patient and stick with Don. I think Don would’ve gotten this team into the playoffs and I think Lenny [Wilkens] will. The schedule will get easier in February.”

According to Malone, he has neck pain, and his daughter has whiplash and back pain. He said he believed the crash was an epiphany.

“We were standing out of the car, in the cold, waiting for the ambulance,” Malone said. “I looked at my grandson and knowing everybody was safe, knowing that explosion we heard, I said, I just got fired, but the most important thing is my family.”

Brendan wants Mike, 30, to stay with the Knicks. Wilkens said he plans to bring on two assistants, and Mike Malone will be considered.