Sports

5 QUESTIONS FOR CRIS CARTER

This week, The Post’s Andrew Marchand spoke with HBO football analyst Cris Carter, who’s in his second year on Inside the NFL.

Q: Are you interested in replacing Dan Marino [who’s headed to the Dolphins as an exec] on CBS’ NFL Today?

A: CBS has a good show and a great network, of course. The people they have there – Jim Nantz is Jim Nantz, his name speaks for itself. Deion [Sanders,] I really have a lot of respect for him because he works hard at it. Like a lot of former players, he is getting better every week and every year. Boomer [Esiason] is very experienced.

Would I have interest in it? Of course, I think I would have interest in it. It is very early, so it is hard for me to say, “Yeah, that is the job that I want.” I would like to talk to them.

Q: In the future, would you be more interested in working games or working in the studio?

A: I like the studio better. I have turned down many opportunities to call games. I don’t really have an interest in calling games.

Q: Why the studio over the games?

A: I think it better fits my style and my personality. If you look at both networks – let’s look at Fox. They have [Cris] Collinsworth – who I work with here and is great – and they have Troy Aikman. So the opportunity to do games, where are you going to go? At CBS, they have Phil Simms on the No. 1 team. What is the chance of you advancing? That is just one example, and I have always liked the studio better.

Q: Would you want to go into coaching or the front office?

A: If I had the relationship that Dan [Marino] has with the Dolphins owner [Wayne Huizenga.] It is a very unique relationship. It is very similar to the relationship that Dwight Clark had with the DeBartolo family in San Francisco. It is very similar to the relationship Ozzie Newsome had in Cleveland and then in Baltimore with the Modell family. I think that plays a big role in a player deciding to go into the front office. As far as coaching, I don’t foresee myself as a coach. I like the connection being in TV. You still stay in the game. You talk to the players. You still talk to the coaches. I think it would compromise the amount of time with my family.

Q: Who is going to the Super Bowl?

A: Philadelphia is going to win [the NFC title game]. I am scared of Carolina, though. And Indianapolis is going to pull off an upset.