Sports

ZEILE: I HAVE NO ROLE HERE

YANKEE NOTES

Todd Zeile wasn’t in yesterday’s lineup, despite the presence of left-hander Jamie Moyer. And while Zeile insists he isn’t frustrated, he is wondering about his current role.

“I figured if I have any purpose left on this team, it would be to play a game like today,” Zeile said. “A left-hander going who I’ve had some hits against, a day game. So my purpose has been whittled to about nothing, I think.”

Heading into yesterday, Zeile was hitting .250 (5-for-20) lifetime against Moyer. But he sat in favor of Aaron Boone at third and Nick Johnson at first (Jason Giambi was the DH). In fact, since Boone’s arrival, Zeile has played in just two of the nine games, and none of the last six.

Zeile realizes that Boone is the everyday third baseman and Johnson might be the team’s hottest hitter. Asked whether it’s gotten harder to accept his role, Zeile said, “I don’t even know that there is a role anymore. Since [Robin Ventura] was moved, it seems like there’s no guarantee that there’s any role whatsoever, except the role of an insurance policy, which is certainly not what I had hoped for here.”

While Joe Torre said that he’d normally play Zeile against a left-hander, he explained his decision yesterday by saying, “[Johnson’s] swinging the bat real well.”

Asked whether he feels comfortable to speak to Torre about his role, Zeile said that wasn’t the issue.

“Joe and I have a long-standing relationship. It’s never a matter of whether I feel comfortable with Joe,” he said. “I just don’t know if it’s really worth it at this point. There’s no real reason for me to go get verification from him. I can read between the lines.”

* After missing two games with a stiff neck, Jorge Posada returned and went 2-5 with a two-run double, but still wasn’t 100 percent. “It was there,” he said. “I felt it.”

Meanwhile, Bernie Williams, who had been in a 1-for-15 slump, busted out with a single, a double and two walks.