Sports

MECHE MASTERS BOMBERS WITH ANOTHER GEM

A pair of shoulder surgeries robbed Seattle’s Gil Meche of two big-league seasons and a chance to pitch in the playoffs. But after dominating the Yankees for the second time this year, Meche is showing he’s not only healthy, but could be a handful come October.

After smothering the Yanks and Roger Clemens in April, he was even more dominant in winning yesterday’s 2-1 duel with Andy Pettitte. The 24-year-old Meche is rapidly building a reputation as a big-game pitcher, and there are few bigger stages than The Bronx.

“I won my last two starts, but this is the game I was looking for,” said Meche, who thrived on the sellout crowd of 54,945. “It’s a big-time place to play. Emotionally, you’ve got to be ready to play in the Stadium. If not, the fans are going to be the first to get to you.

“I love big games. This year I’ve stepped up when I’ve had to. It gives me great confidence, even though I’ve never pitched in the postseason. It’s something I’m looking forward to. I don’t think there’ll be any bigger games until the postseason, so I’m ready for it.”

Meche (13-7) threw eight two-hit innings, giving up just a second-inning Nick Johnson solo shot and striking out seven with 97- mph heat and a nasty slider inside to lefties. The Yanks would do well to avoid him in the fall.

“Gil’s been great, dominant both times,” Bret Boone said. “That’s about the biggest stage you could get and I don’t think he could’ve handled it better.”

Manager Bob Melvin said, “He’s pitched two of his best games of the year against two big-time pitchers. I don’t think he goes out and says this is a big game: Every game for him is big, from where he came from.”