US News

JAYSON’S KILLER $$ DEAL WITH GUS’ KIN

Former hoop superstar Jayson Williams settled a civil lawsuit brought by the family of a limousine driver shot dead last year at his mansion – and offered a heartfelt apology to the man’s loved ones.

“While I know the pain I feel cannot compare to yours, I will live my whole life with the thought that Mr. Gus Christofi is no longer with you,” Williams, 34, said to the Christofi family in a letter released yesterday.

“I am truly sorry. While I know that sorrow can never bring your brother back, I wanted you to know how I feel. It is my hope and prayer that over time you will find it in your heart to forgive me. My wife, Tanya, and I pray for your forgiveness every day of our lives.”

The Christofis accepted the former NBA giant’s remorse.

“We are sure that he did not intend to hurt Gus and that he sincerely regrets what occurred,” they said in a letter. “He has offered us his deepest sympathies and he has taken responsibility for this tragic accident, which we genuinely appreciate.”

While sources would not comment publicly on the amount of the settlement yesterday, one source said it was under a million dollars, a payout the multimillionaire player was expected to split with his insurance company.

Christofi’s brother, Anthony, and sister, Andrea Adams, filed the lawsuit against Williams on Oct. 30.

The former NBA star – who signed an $85 million contract with the New Jersey Nets shortly before an injury forced his retirement in 2000 – is accused of recklessly handling the shotgun that killed Christofi last year and then trying to make the shooting look self-inflicted.

Williams faces up to 45 years in prison if convicted on all charges, which include aggravated manslaughter.

Christofi, 55, was found shot to death in the master bedroom at Williams’ 65-acre estate in Alexandria Township last Feb. 14. According to the criminal complaint, Williams was the only person near Christofi when the gun went off.

With Post Wire Services