Sports

L.I.’S WELSH DRAFTED TO JUICE POWER

Former Penn State soccer standout Christie Welsh is coming home.

The Massapequa Park native was taken by the Power with the second pick in yesterday’s WUSA draft.

“Part of me wanted to be excited, but I wanted to wait until it was official first,” Welsh said. “Now, I’m set to come home and play. It’s a huge thrill.”

It’s going to be an even bigger thrill for the Power, who landed the best forward in the draft.

Just take a look at her resume:

First player in women’s soccer history to earn NSCAA All-American honors for four consecutive years.

Won the 2001 Hermann Trophy as top as nation’s top soccer player and named MAC Player of the Year.

Collected 82 goals, 52 assists, 216 points and 27 game-winning goals over her four seasons with Lions.

Has 20 caps and 12 goals for the U.S. national team.

Welsh is the perfect compliment to Tiffeny Milbrett.

“I’m looking forward to playing with [Milbrett]. She is a great player, who I’m going to learn a lot from,” Welsh said. “Running along side her will help me to be an immediate impact.”

Welsh was chosen after San Diego picked Santa Clara’s Aly Wagner.