Sports

CENTER MOCKS FASSEL EFFORT TO FAN FIRE

SANTA CLARA, Calif. – San Francisco center Jeremy Newberry upped the bulletin board stakes yesterday, mocking Giants coach Jim Fassel.

The blunt-spoken 49er said he doesn’t care if the Giants take inspiration from his prediction of a San Francisco playoff victory this Sunday, and laughed at Fassel for using the center’s words to psyche up Big Blue.

“What am I supposed to say? ‘I’m terrified of the Giants. I don’t think we have a chance?’ ” Newberry said after practice yesterday. “No, I think we’re going to kick their [butt]. I think that of everyone we play.”

Earlier in the day, Fassel told reporters in a telephone conference call that he’s read Newberry’s words – predicting a win on Sunday – to his team.

Not only did the Pro Bowl center not back down, Newberry threw some more gasoline on the fiery rhetoric.

“What, are they going get fired up to play the game? They better be ready to play the game,” Newberry said mockingly. “I’m going to say what I feel, I think we’re going to win this ballgame.

“If you need someone to say something to get you hyped to play the game, then maybe you’re in the wrong profession,” added the fifth-year pro and two-time Pro Bowl selection.

“I’m not worried about that [the Giants pinning my words on a bulletin board]. If they can’t get ready to play this game on their own, if they need me to say something to get ready to play a playoff game where it’s do-or-die . . . my team is going to be ready to play.”

At least some of Newberry’s teammates don’t mind the challenge he’s put down.

As the center boldly told reporters how San Francisco surely would beat the Giants, running back Kevan Barlow strolled by, pumping his fist and shouting repeatedly: “You go J, we got your back!”

The budding Newberry-Fassel feud doesn’t seem to worry coach Steve Mariucci, who smiled and dismissed the verbal jousting, saying he doesn’t believe Fassel really thinks the Giants care what Newberry has to say.

“If you need something like that to get up, then you’re in it for the wrong reasons . . . so that’s just Newberry getting excited,” Mariucci said.

——

TAKING OUT THE TRASH (s, lcf)

“I think [Barber] has a psyche problem covering the ball.” “[Shockey will] get frustrated and then blow a couple of plays.” – Julian Peterson

“What am I supposed to say? ‘I’m terrified of the Giants. I don’t think we have a chance?’ No, I think we’re going to kick their [butt].” – Jeremy Newberry