Entertainment

TAN’S MADE IN THE SHADE

OF course, you know it’s bad – dangerous even. But when the mercury rises and all you see is exposed flesh, you can’t help feeling the urge to soak up the sun.

So what’s a wrinkle-phobic fashionista to do?

Beauty and tanning salons across the city are now offering UV-free procedures that will leave you looking like you just flew back from South Beach.

Similar to the bottled stuff you apply at home, these salon formulas contain dihydroxyacetone (DHA), to trick proteins in your skin to give you a golden glow. But unlike home jobs, these fake bakes all promise to be goof-proof.

Do they live up to their billing? Here are the results of The Post’s faux-tan road-test.

* At Get Centered Mind and Wellness Spa, salon owner Hara Taicher sprayed “Fantasy Tan” on my thong-clad body using a specially designed airbrush.

The process takes about 10 minutes, and 30 minutes to dry. A cinnamon shade shows up instantly, but it takes 24 hours for the color to fully develop.

After my second visit – Hara recommends coming back within 48 hours – the dark tan was perfectly distributed across my body.

But it was time-consuming – and $125 is a bit steep for a tan that lasted just four days.

Get Centered Mind and Wellness Spa, 18 E. 53rd St.; (212) 753-9590, http://www.getcenteredinc.com. $75 for one visit; $125 for two visits; $300 for five.

* Wearing only a plastic bathing cap, I stepped into Beach Bum Tanning Salon’s “Mystic Tan” booth alone.

Before entering the futuristic shower, I rubbed a barrier cream on my fingers and toes, to prevent them from absorbing too much of the tanning solution.

Then the nozzles were turned on, releasing a liquid solution which sprayed all over my body.

In less than five minutes, I was out the door and walking toward the Q train.

Within six hours, my skin looked a shade and a half darker, and it lasted for four days. I did have a little streaking on my shoulders, due to friction with my bra straps, and because of the barrier cream, my hands and feet were lighter than the rest of my body.

Beach Bum Tanning Salon, 30-85 Steinway Street, Astoria, Queens; (718) 777-7708, and 110-74 Queens Blvd., Forest Hills, Queens; (718) 261-8280. http://www.beachbumtanning.com. $24 for a single visit; $75 for five; $129 for 12.

* Be thankful Hollywood Tans also offers a private booth, so no one has to see you perform the embarrassing little dance recommended to ensure all-over color.

I felt like a reject Rockette.

Like “Mystic Tan,” I was sprayed by the nozzles in the shower, but instead of standing still, here they suggest you twist from side to side for more even application.

So zealous was I in performing my step, I almost slipped in the damp, foggy booth.

Hollywood Tans gave me a beautiful color, a burnt brown with just a hint of peach that also lasted four days. I had some streaking, mostly on my hands and feet, so I’ve already started practicing the dance so my tan will be more even next time.

Hollywood Tans, 388 Sixth Ave.; (212) 353-1880, http://www.hollywoodtan.com. $29 for a single visit; $79 for four visits; $210 for 11 visits.