Entertainment

FLEET MEET – UNKS AHOY IN THE CITY!

WHAT’S better than a man in uniform? A whole force of them.

Fleet Week – every New York girl’s favorite rite of summer – is here, and it sure makes us feel patriotic to be part of the fun.

You can find your own lonely sailor this weekend at rugged pubs like MacDougal Street Ale House, trendy lounges like Suite 16 and Whiskey Blue, or chic restaurants like Ferrier Bistro on the Upper East Side.

Marines and sailors are all over town, and you can spy them walking around Times Square, Central Park and at Ground Zero almost any time.

Most of the sailors are staying on their ships – where they must report back at 7 a.m. every morning. You can see some of the ships at Pier 88 at 12th Avenue and West 46th Street. You may even catch a few military types at Mr. Biggs in Hell’s Kitchen, right around the corner.

What’s the way to a deck swabber’s heart? To give Post readers an edge on the competition, we conducted a little research of our own.

Sailor Jason Hannah, 22

San Diego

What he wants to do here: “First thing, I’d like to hear some good jazz. I’m going to Smalls in the Village and Smoke in Harlem.”

Ideal woman: “Looks – you’ve got to be attractive. Pretty eyes. I don’t like shallow women. I like down-to-earth, funny women.”

Why he’s hotter than a New York guy: “I actually have some culture and class.”

Sailor Chris Couch, 24

Norfolk, Va.

What he likes most about New York: “Ray’s Pizza in Times Square is the greatest in the world.”

Ideal woman: “That good, bubbly, energetic personality. Brown eyes and freckles – they’re the most adorable things in the world.”

Why he’s hotter than a New York guy: “Us Southern boys are filled with charm and snake oil. We’ll love you, dine you and not let go of you.”

Sailor Nick Michaels, 21

Westbend, Wis.

What he wants to do here: “I’m excited to see comedy shows, like ‘Saturday Night Live’ and the ‘Daily Show.'”

Ideal woman: “Attractive, brunette. The laugh. Enjoys sports and likes to go camping.”

Why he’s hotter than a New York guy: “The great outdoors.”

Marine Tyson Ruecker, 27

Albany, N.Y.

Ideal woman: “My job keeps me on a tight leash, so I am not going to be able to party a lot while I am here. But I would like a wholesome, decent New York woman to bring home to Mom.”

Why he’s hotter than a New York guy: “I’m a U.S. Marine. I signed on the dotted line.”

Sailor Tyrone Williams, 20

Atlanta

What he wants to do here: “Go to the Apollo and the China Club. Definitely check out Ground Zero.”

Ideal woman: “She’s got to be average. I’m not looking for Shania Twain. Intelligent. I don’t like the women who wear skirts so short that their underwear is coming out.”

Why he’s hotter than a New York guy: “I understand women. And I’m open to doing anything.”