US News

VICTORIA GOTTI

DESPERATE? Three young teens set out on a mission to kill and the Palestinians label them “desperate.” I say, try “brainwashed.”

The Palestinian parents of these boys betrayed them and stole their innocence and their lives by grooming them from infancy to be terrorists. They allowed them to believe sacrificing their own lives by killing those with a different view would guarantee a nonstop trip to heaven.

How can there ever be peace in this region when mothers and fathers allow their children to develop homicidal thoughts, and ultimately commit suicidal acts of violence? One tearful woman who had just lost her young boy even accused the Israeli soldiers of killing her 14-year-old. Doesn’t this woman understand that it was her appalling method of parenting that put her child in the line of fire?

As a mother of three boys not much older than the trio of wannabe bombers killed last week, I cannot comprehend how anything – even religion – could justify this senseless waste of life.

I can only speculate that in raising their boys amid hatred, betrayal and disrespect, these horrid parents never allowed their offspring a chance to explore any alternatives. So does this mean, with parents and offspring like this, we are now at least two generations away from any prospect of peace in the region?

If that’s the case, I say it’s time for intervention. Someone has to end this heinous behavior before more innocents are sacrificed. Maybe all us moms who really care about our babies should put our heads together and demand a solution.

Remember the Vietnam era and the “Another Mother for Peace” movement? Perhaps it’s time to reactivate a similar cause and put a stop to this insanity.

KAREN Hughes’ resignation last week as President Bush’s counsel and closest confidante may have surprised many in Washington political circles, but I totally support her tough decision.

As a hands-on mom, I understand how a woman who rose to be a trusted and loyal adviser to the president could give up her position of power to head home. Almost from birth, girls are prepped to become wives and mothers – especially mothers.

When Hughes realized her husband and son had not settled into Washington and were homesick for the Lone Star State and their friends there, she knew what she had to do. Scoop up her family and head for the hills . . . er, the ranch!

Even the prez understood the importance of Hughes’ choice, saying she “put her family ahead of her service to my government . . . Raising a family is the most important job.”

I agree. When a woman decides to have a child, it should be an act with no selfish intent. My children are my life. Their happiness and well-being come first and foremost. True, there are tough times, but the day I made the decision to have them was the day I decided all else came second.

I’ll probably be attacked by a frenzied flock of feminists, but that’s my opinion.

SONGBIRD Celine Dion is thriving as a mother. She calls the role “the most important” of her life and even put her dynamic career on hold to be there 24/7 for her boy, Rene Charles. There was no other way to ensure she was there for his first step, first word and first potty triumph.

This glamorous diva has definitely been bitten by the “mommy bug” – a primal need, I have desperately tried to explain to my single, childless friends.

When we spoke last week, I asked Dion why she chose to do a remake of “At Last” (one of my faves made popular by Etta James) on her latest album.

She told me, “It was exactly what I had been thinking – the exact frame of mind I had been in.” I often find myself there, too, and I could not have chosen a more talented, beautiful mom to do a remake of this fabulous tune!

VICTORIA’S SECRET: Am I the only person who believes Robert “Baretta” Blake is innocent? Sources close to the aging TV detective confirm he is calm, cool and collected, and while awaiting legal processing, has been catching up on some reading – including yours truly’s “Superstar.”