Sports

KOMIYAMA’S SET FOR SOME HOME COOKIN’

MET NOTES

Of all the American food he’s tried, Satoru Komiyama finds Eggs Benedict especially delicious. Today, Komiyama will get a real flavor for being a major leaguer in the United States.

The Chiba, Japan native made the final cut as one of the team’s 12 pitchers, and the 36-year-old righty will work in a relief role for the Mets. He said he didn’t sweat the last cuts on Saturday.

“This is a world where you have to show the result on the field all the time,” Komiyama said. “It’s natural that if I can’t do well on the field, I have to go to a different place. That’s not only for me but for everybody.

“I never worried about it. All I can do is try my best on the field and show the result.”

Komiyama’s windup is a bone of contention with major-league umpires because he stops momentarily at the beginning of it. Bobby Valentine again addressed the issue before yesterday’s workout.

Komiyama, the seven-time Japanese All-Star, said he’ll have no problem tinkering with his mechanics if need be.

“I can make adjustments over time,” Komiyama said. “The most important thing is how to throw pitches for the hitters.

“It doesn’t really matter if I have to make a minor change in my throwing motion. It doesn’t affect my pitching at all.”

*

Pedro Astacio and Jeff D’Amico pitched yesterday in an intrasquad minor-league game in Port St. Lucie. Astacio threw 57 pitches over four innings, scattering four hits and two earned runs. He issued no walks and struck out six.

D’Amico pitched five innings (71 pitches), allowing six hits and three earned runs. He walked none and struck out one. Astacio will pitch the road opener in Atlanta Friday, followed by D’Amico.

*

Righty Grant Roberts is ready for his first Opening Day. The 24-year-old former starter has looked good in the spring and now feels comfortable as a reliever.

“Warming up has been no problem,” Roberts said. “I’ve been getting really loose real fast.”

*

The Mets installed a $1 million-plus grass field with better drainage at Shea Stadium and donated the old field to various Little League groups in Connecticut and Staten Island.