HE’S SURROUNDED BY SOUND

It’s all about the music in Kedar Massenburg’s office.

As CEO and president of Motown since 1999, he is credited with bringing the legendary label into the modern age, so much so that the labels’ artists scored a record 15 Grammy nominations.

“I want to hear exactly what I’m getting out of the studio,” Massenburg said of the $30,000 sound system which is aimed at his desk. “It’s my bread and butter – the system is a necessity.”

The office, overlooking the corner of 56th Street and Eighth Avenue, was formerly David Geffen’s. Massenburg barely made any changes.

“I kept all of the furniture except his desk. He had a round desk and,” he added, “he didn’t have the speakers.”

Photos of his 14-month daughter, Kayla, and his mother are behind the desk. Also on Massenburg’s desk are two disposable cameras.

“They are there for times like when Stevie Wonder comes in and my daughter’s here – I can snap pictures,” he explained, which is exactly what happened last week.

“Stevie was singing to her and she was screaming.”