Entertainment

STYLE & SUBSTANCE: ERIN BROCKOVICH

If you don’t know who Erin Brockovich is, you must be from a distant planet.Not only did she pioneer the largest class-action settlement in U.S. history, but she gave new meaning to the bustier when Julia Roberts played her in the Academy Award-winning movie bearing her name.

And the 5-foot-10 hotshot is still making a difference.

When Mayor Giuliani gave her a mission to renovate a amphitheater and soccer field in lower Manhattan – with no budget – she recruited a construction crew to donate their time and finished the project in six days. A documentary on the feat aired on ABC last week.

“The construction guys have moved me,” said the Kansas-born, sharp-tongued sensation from her L.A. home, which she shares with husband, Eric Ellis, and their three children. “They’re some of the nicest family men who take pride in what they do.”

Brockovich made fame as a filing clerk at the Masry and Vititoe law firm in L.A., where she discovered that utility giant Pacific Gas & Electric was contaminating local drinking water. The firm paid $333 million in damages to more than 600 Hinkley, Calif., residents. The thrice-married 41-year-old still works at the firm, and has written her first book, “Take It From Me: Life’s a Struggle But You Can Win,” with Marc Eliot.

Q: Describe your personal style.

A: Eclectic – a little bit of everything.

Q: What do you wear when relaxing?

A: Probably jeans, a bustier, blazer and boots. Or nothing at all. I could just run around in a pair of funky Prada boots and a pair of cut-off shorts.

Q: What about for a big night out?

A: For dinner and a movie, I’ll wear form-fitting jeans or leather pants, a tight knit top or a bustier with a classic blazer, a pair of boots and a really bold belt.

Q: Has your style changed in any way since the movie?

A: It’s pretty much stayed the same. My skirts may be a tad longer. I’m still in the high heels and really enjoying my fashion. I love the bustiers. I’ve had people try to educate me, but I don’t really like it. I love designer Bradley Bayou. I have hips. I’m busty. He meets the challenge and designs stuff I love.

Q: Favorite stores?

A: Nicole’s on Sunset Boulevard is one of my favorite stores of all time. And Billy Martin on Sunset Boulevard. And the little store Why Not? in Grey Hills. I also like Prada and I love Giorgio Armani – I have a couple of Armani suits that are my fave-y, fave-y, fave-y.

Q: Are you a shopaholic?

A: Yes. It’s very dangerous. I’m the queen of shopping, the master of shopping. It’s my favorite thing to do. I go brain dead. I get off the phones, and just look at everything. ‘Oh, I like this. I want that.’ I feel silly and girlie.

Q: What was the last item you splurged on?

A: A fur hat and a lamb’s wool and suede fur coat in New York, matching boots and gloves from Cole Haan. I just got three purses: one crocodile and two ostrich. I had no business doing that. I figured, if I’m dead tomorrow, at least I got the purse. And one was in red hot chili pepper. It’s so bitchin’, I’m carrying it right now.

Q: What do you do to relax?

A: I like boating. I have a really neat 22-foot open bow, ultra ski boat. I like getting out there with family, good friends, the wind blowing through my hair, sun in my face. I feel really free when I’m out on the water.

Q: How do you stay in shape?

A: I try to have a workout routine. It’s so difficult to stay on it. When I’m on airports or in buildings, I walk all three floors. Little things like that. I had a trainer. I have a gym at home. I look at it more than I use it. I crash. When I suddenly realize I have to get in shape, I go on a two-week diet, two weeks running, two weeks abdominal crunch. Or it could be some inspiring comment from my child that my butt is jiggling, and I’ll be like ‘what?’ That’s motivation.

Q: Do you follow a special diet?

A: I don’t eat much. I don’t like chocolate, pies, donuts. Just naturally I tend to eat more fruits and vegetables. I try to take herbs, vitamins and work out when I can.

Q: What gives you substance?

A: More often than not, my mom and dad. When I’m down and out, they have the wisdom and confidence, and they know what to say.

Q: What do you do for fun?

A: Everything I’m doing day to day is my fun. It really is. I have fun whether it be doing a challenge, working on a tough case, being in the law firm. Just living is my fun.

Q: What would you NEVER wear?

A: Hanes underwear.