Sports

CAMBY STILL ON HOLD; KURT BANGED UP

LOS ANGELES – Marcus Camby ruled out playing on this three-game western trip that began yesterday vs. the Clippers, but is still shooting to return by Saturday vs. the Bulls at the Garden. But that still seems highly questionable since the 6-11 starting center will only have had one full practice under his belt. Kurt Thomas, forced to play center, may join Camby on the sidelines the rest of the trip after spraining his left ankle in the 88-86 loss to Clippers.

Camby, battling plantar fasciaitis in his left foot, has been told by Knicks trainers he’s not ready to return to practice today, which will be held at Loyola-Marymount in L.A. before the team flies to San Francisco for tomorrow’s matchup vs. Golden State. However, he may participate lightly in tomorrow’s morning shootaround and hopes to return to practice Friday at SUNY-Purchase.

“If I feel good after Friday and I don’t see anything setting me back, maybe I’ll give it a go, but it’s not definite,” Camby said.

Camby’s conditioning is the main issue since he missed all but six minutes of preseason and the first 11 games. “I ask (trainer) Mike [Saunders] every day, he says I’m not ready yet,” Camby said. “I have to get some practices in. I just can’t jump into the ballgame. Then with me, I don’t want to tease myself. If I’m out there, I want to get out there for significant minutes. So I have to make sure I’m alright.”