Sports

A-ROD NOW MUST WAIT TILL NEXT YEAR

ez’s season ended last night in The Bronx and his immediate plans were to get on the first plane to Miami.

Where the superstar free-agent shortstop goes from there is anyone’s guess.

“My mind has been so consumed trying to beat the Yankees and a figure out a way to beat those guys, I haven’t really thought about my situation,” said Rodriguez after the Mariners lost Game 6, 9-7 to the Yankees.

Rodriguez stood in front of his locker stall in the visitor’s clubhouse nattily dressed in black from head to toes. He looked like the native New Yorker he is and judging from his performance in this ALCS against the Yankees, A-Rod would be quite comfortable in this city.

The team the Yankees will play in the World Series certainly has eyes on A-Rod. The Mets will be a big player in the A-Rod sweepstakes and he will listen.

“I think the interest is thete from the general public to see what my decision is going to be,” said Rodriguez. “My decision is going to take a little bit of time. It’s going to take some information. I’m going to test the free agent market and just because I do that doesn’t mean Seattle is not my first choice because I’m very proud of the organization and everything we’ve done this year. [I] just want to take some information and make my decision.”

Rodriguez said he wasn’t certain if he watch the Subway Series but he acknowledged there’s a shortstop on one team he’s good friends with. That player, of course, is Derek Jeter.

Jeter has what A-Rod wants, a championship ring. Jeter will be playing for his fourth. A-Rod can once again brag to his friend about his fantastic stats.

Last night he went 4-for-5 with a home run and two doubles. He scored twice and drove in two runs.

Perhaps next year he can be an active participant in a Subway Series.