Sports

SCOTT’S NETS ALL RILED UP

Byron Scott obviously learned from Pat Riley during his playing days with the Lakers “Showtime.” Need proof? Look no further than the fourth quarter last night. One aspect Scott obviously learned was competitiveness.

With just over 5:00 remaining, Riley fleshed out his unit with starters. He said it was by design, but it certainly looked like Riley was going for the win in a pre-season game. So Scott retaliated and by 3:40, had virtually his starting unit back on the floor. And with Stephon Marbury hooking up with No. 1 pick Kenyon Martin on a pair of huge plays, plus Kendall Gill hitting a nail in the coffin jumper, the Nets held off Miami, 88-82, in the pre-season opener for both at the Meadowlands.

“He stuck his in and I wanted to give our guys a confidence builder, [so] I brought back Steph and Kendall and Kenyon Martin when I saw [Anthony] Mason and Eddie Jones,” said Scott after the Nets played hard wire to wire and withstood Brian Grant’s terrorizing inside play. “I’m just like him I’m a competitor and I want to win games too.”

The two conversed earlier in the day when Riley kidded his former pupil about adopting many of his tendencies.

“He said congratulations and started laughing. He said, ‘I heard you gave them a four-hour practice. You use to complain to me when I gave a four-hour practice.’ I said, ‘Hey, I learned it all from you,’ ” Scott said.

Among other things. So last night, Scott’s Nets, without Keith Van Horn (strained knee), squared off with Riley’s Heat, without Alonzo Mourning (kidney ailment). It was Scott’s unofficial Net debut so it was sort of fitting that he should go up against the best in his business.

Martin overcame early foul trouble and scored six of his 11 points in the final 3:24. Marbury scored 18 points and passed for eight assists while Kendall Gill shot 7 of 10 and scored 14 points, along with rookie free agent hopeful Stephen Jackson. Grant had 29 for Miami

“I’m flattered,” Riley said about Scott’s praise. “I’m happy for him. It makes me feel good that 18 or 19 years ago I coached players and now they’re becoming head coaches. He’s thought about this. He has a mind for it. He’s ready for it and I think it’s a great choice.

“He was always a very smart player. Solid, paid attention, worked hard. The last three or four years I got a feeling that he wanted to coach,” Riley recalled. “I don’t think you see it much in your players. You’re spending too much time having a war with them. A nice war.”

Riley addressed the matter of his former pupil but of far more consequence is the Mourning situation. The All-Star center has requested privacy regarding his kidney ailment and has indicated that he will announce the nature and paths of action to take next week.

“He’s good. He’s in a great frame of mind. We’re waiting for final word probably Monday or Tuesday of next week. We’re just waiting and wishing for good things,” said Riley, who chided the media is general for hounding Mourning and offering theories about the nature of the illness.

“They would really like to make a statement themselves and if the press would just respect his wishes everything will come out when Zo looks at that camera and is sure of everything.”

*

Keith Van Horn admitted relief that his left knee pain was a case of strained ligaments and nothing more serious.

“I was getting warmed up [Monday] and it started locking up once in a while. I discussed with the doctor what was happening and he thought it was something more serious,” recalled Van Horn.