US News

2 KIDS DIE IN B’KLYN FIRE

Two children died yesterday in an early-morning blaze that filled their Brooklyn home with thick, deadly smoke.

The accidental fire that started in the basement of the two-story house at 637 Linden Blvd. in Flatbush around 1:30 a.m. killed Dwayne Brown, 10, and his 6-year-old sister, Nassiah Woods, who were asleep on the top floor.

Their great uncle, Oneal Haynes, 54, who lives on the first floor, said he tried desperately to rescue the children.

“There was so much smoke. I couldn’t see. There was no way to get up there,” he told The Post.

There was “not so much fire as there was smoke,” he said. “It filled up with smoke so quick …

“I got about halfway up those stairs and I couldn’t see nothing and all I felt was heat and blinding smoke. “I had to come back down.”

Haynes said his niece and the kids lived upstairs, he said.

“I don’t know how I’m going to be able to make it without seeing them running around,” Haynes said.

“I loved them. All I can tell you is they were lovable children.”

Two girls, Talisha Payne, 11, and Shallayva Spencer, 12, suffered smoke inhalation and were taken to Kings County Hospital.

Fire officials said the fire was caused by a electrical cord on a refrigerator in the basement.