Sports

CONE: I SHALL RETURN! – ENCOURAGING MRI GIVES YANK PITCHER REASON TO BELIEVE

KANSAS CITY – Standing in the lobby of the Yankees’ hotel early yesterday afternoon, David Cone had the look of a beat up man. His left arm was in sling to support the shoulder he dislocated Tuesday night and Cone’s eyes certainly looked like they got the two hours of sleep in a chair Cone said they did.

Cone’s visit to an MRI tube was now complete and he was awaiting the results along with his father, Ed.

Several hours later, Cone was buoyed by the MRI results which showed no serious damage, just normal bruising associated with an anterior shoulder dislocation. The non-throwing shoulder still throbbed and his eyes were weary but ever the fighter, Cone held out hope his season and career didn’t end on the Kauffman Stadium grass where he suffered the injury making a diving catch on a Rey Sanchez bunt attempt.

“I believe I will throw again before the regular season is done,” Cone said yesterday prior to the Royals-Yankees game last night.

When Cone returns isn’t known. He will fly to New York tomorrow to meet with Yankee team doctor Stuart Hershon and begin a rehabilitation program. Even though it’s not his throwing shoulder, Cone knows the left arm is needed to provide a base during his delivery.

“When I will be able to throw a ball, I don’t know,” said Cone, who fielded a supportive phone call from George Steinbrenner in which the subject of Cone’s future never surfaced. The Boss told Cone of his shoulder separation he suffered in college and explained to Cone that he could associate with the extreme pain Cone was in Tuesday night.

As for Cone’s future, he is holding out hope that his borderline Hall of Fame career isn’t over. And he hasn’t closed the book on coming back this year or squeezing his way onto Joe Torre’s post-season roster.

“I got a chance, who knows, I don’t know how I am going to fit in,” said Cone, who left after 2 2/3 innings Tuesday night. “But I am going to try and get ready and pitch again. Beyond that, who knows. As for the post-season roster, who knows? I am in a backup position right now so who knows. From a professional standpoint, I have to get myself ready if the team needs me.”

With a 4-11 record and 6.16 ERA, Cone’s future – with the Yankees and in baseball – was in grave doubt long before he landed on his left shoulder. The injury further clouds the issue.

“I am still short term in my mind and I have to be ready,” Cone said when asked what his feelings about pitching beyond this year were. “In another week, we will know more. How much time I miss will determine … I understand my role. The next 10 days are important to see if I can get back on the mound and throw again.”

And beyond that? Always one of the most candid players, Cone understands the landscape.

“I have always said if I had to answer that question now, the answer would be yes,” Cone said about hurling next season. “But when the season is over, I have to sit down and think about it and do some soul searching. Then there is the question about finding a job. There is not a big market for a 38-year-old 4-11 pitcher. But I also know in my hearts of hearts that I can still pitch.”

Since having Royals doctor Steve Joyce pop his shoulder back in Tuesday night, Cone’s emotions have gone through enormous highs and lows. Yesterday, after sleeping in a chair to avoid rolling over in a bed and having the shoulder slide out again, Cone was still riding the emotional roller coaster.

“There is a spectrum of emotions,” Cone admitted. “I still have to keep myself geared up here because I have a chance to come back and maybe be a longshot to pitch in the playoffs. The other part of me says, ‘Maybe this isn’t going to work.’ You fight it, back and forth. As a professional I have to do everything I can to be ready.”

Even then, it may not be enough. And don’t expect Torre to give Cone a meaningless start later this month as a way of thanking him for everything he has meant to the Yankees for the past six seasons.

“As far as a tribute to him, I don’t think we need to do that,” Torre said.