Sports

STONE GETS NOD AS FASSEL NAMES CAPTAINS

GIANT NOTES

When Jim Fassel announced the team captains to the Giants following yesterday’s practice, the names were followed by cheers and few surprises. Jessie Armstead and Michael Strahan on defense, Kerry Collins as one of the offensive captains. Lomas Brown as what Fassel termed a “special” captain.

And Ron Stone as the other offensive captain.

What does this mean?

“I guess that I got a lot of guys that like me?” Stone said.

Who knew? Stone is entering his fifth season with the Giants, has started 62 of a possible 64 games at right guard and has been a solid player and an extremely low-key personality during his stay. Amid the massive offensive line upheaval this season, Stone was the only lineman who remained in his spot, with changes all around him. He was surprised he was voted by his teammates to be one of the team captains.

“I voted for Tiki [Barber],” Stone said. “I figured Kerry was going to make it. I didn’t think I was going to make it. I was just like wow, because I know a couple of guys voted for me, but I didn’t think the majority did. I guess I dominated the field with my linemen.”

By talking, Stone knew he was at risk for a fine, as he is the keeper of a tradition that fines any offensive lineman who talks to the media about himself. It’s an edict that has been completely ignored by newcomers Glenn Parker, Dusty Zeigler and Brown. Keeping in character, Stone at first refused to speak about his captainship before relenting.

“The offense, the group has really come together, the whole offense is a mugh tighter unit,” Stone said. “I’m kind of excited they picked me as one of the captains. It could have went to Howard [Cross]. I don’t like yell or get after guys. I don’t think that’s me. But talking, helping guys, little stuff like that I do, but I’m not really a vocal guy.”

*

WR Ron Dixon sat out because of a cut and bruised heel, but he said he will be able to play on Sunday despite the soreness. .. Compared to Cardinals coach Vince Tobin, Fassel is blessed with wonderful job security. Both Fassel and Tobin were set to face the final year of their contracts, but Fassel received a one-year extension while Tobin received nothing. Here’s a rarity: A limited number of tickets for Sunday’s Giants-Cardinals game will go on sale at 9 a.m. today at tri-state area Ticketmaster locations. The tickets became available when the Cardinals returned some of their tickets. Tickets are $45, and purchases must be made in person and with cash only.