Sports

KNICKS NEEDY WITH NO EWING

The feeling among the Pacers’ players and coaches is mutual: They know their chances of going up 3-0 on the battered and bruised Knicks in today’s Game 3 of the Eastern Conference Finals at the Garden are much better if Patrick Ewing never gets off the bench.

With Ewing’s status very much in question because of a sprained right foot on the eve of the most critical game of the season for the Knicks, the Pacers know their adversaries are vulnerable.

“I think our chances improve if Patrick’s not in there,” Pacers’ forward Dale Davis said after yesterday’s practice at John Jay College on the West Side of Manhattan. “I think they’re definitely a better team with him in there, no doubt about that in my mind. Without him it’ll be a big loss for them.”

Asked if he hopes Ewing can play, Davis said, “I don’t wish anybody to have injuries. But if he can’t come back, I won’t feel sorry for him. That’s just part of the game, just part of life. I think their team will step up with or without him. We look for it to be a war with or without Patrick in there.”

Jalen Rose, who scored 24 points in Game 2 and was the star of the game for the Pacers on Thursday night, was asked the same question: does he hope Ewing can play?

“In my heart of hearts I don’t care,” Rose said. “I want to win the game. We’ve been down this road before with Patrick in and Patrick out. He is a tremendous warrior for their team and I don’t think they’re a better team without him. Whatever it takes for us to win, though, I’ll take it.

“They’re more athletic without Patrick, but I don’t know if they’re better,” Rose went on. “You can’t be better without arguably one of your best players, a guy that’s been putting his work in for years in New York. So I’m not going to say they’re a better team without him.”

Nor would Knick-hater Reggie Miller, who did say, “I’d rather Patrick plays. He’s a great warrior, a great competitor. I hope he suits up.”

Miller, who scored 19 points on 5-of-19 shooting Thursday, said he believes no Ewing in the lineup makes it harder on himand Rose.

“It puts more pressure on me and Jalen because we have to contend more with (Allan) Houston and (Latrell) Sprewell,” Miller said.

Larry Bird agreed.

“They’ll probably get more looks at the basket, no question,” Bird said of Houston (15 points in Game 2) and Sprewell (10 points). “But we’ve got to do a better job on (Marcus) Camby (6 points, 11 rebounds), keeping him off the boards and keeping his scoring down.

“Allan and Spree are going to try to score a lot of points for them. We just can’t let anybody else step up for them.”