Sports

CAZZIE’S SCORING BIG AS DIVISION III COACH

HE was an incandescent scorer. Now he’s a guiding light. Cazzie Russell, Division III basketball coach and minister, knows which profession is more valuable. If only today’s pros could learn from him.

Russell still wears his NBA championship ring. And he’s still Snazzy Cazzie, immaculately dressed in his role as head coach of Savannah College of Art and Design, which crushed Polytechnic University, 70-43, in a preliminary game at the Meadowlands before the Nets met the NBA-champion Spurs.

Cazzie knows now that this work is more fulfilling than anything he has done in his life.

“This is a great opportunity to not only give something back but to have an impact on young people’s lives,” says Russell, who in 1966 was made the nation’s No. 1 draft pick by the Knicks after starring at Michigan.

“I think you can really have an impact if they see you living what you preach,” Russell says. “I’m a big advocate of a good work ethic physically and academically and I try to emphasize the spiritual side. When I was coming up I knew about it, but I really didn’t live The Word.”

As a minister/coach, he takes The Word seriously. So much so that Cazzie is putting on hold his choice for the next president even though his old teammate and college rival Bill Bradley is running. Senator Bill is actively seeking endorsements from ex-mates. The two men’s lives have been intertwined ever since Bradley pumped in 41 points to Russell’s 27 in Michigan’s 80-78 victory over Princeton in the 1964 Holiday Festival. In the 1969-70 NBA season they won a championship together.

Russell, though, said he has not made up his mind if Bradley will get his vote. The two were never close and went their own ways after their NBA careers ended. It was Bradley, of course, who got the starting nod over Russell, which resulted in Russell being traded to the Warriors in 1971 for Jerry Lucas with Willis Reed aching. This choice has nothing to do with the competitive spirit between the two, but is based on issues.

“He’s calling,” Russell said with a smile of Candidate Bill. “I guess running for president could be a motivating factor.”

As for Bradley’s chances of winning his biggest race, Russell says, “He’s closed a lot of ground, but it’s going to be tough … I was in Chicago at one of his fund-raisers. We’ve talked. I wanted to listen as to where he stands on some of his issues because I am influencing a lot of people.”

He’s influencing these kids now in the most positive of ways.

“He’s more than just a coach, he’s a teacher,” says junior swingman Jamald Gardner. “The things we’re going through, he’s already been there, done that. He’s taught me a lot of things in the game such as balance and how important that is. As far as just a person, his whole outlook is positive, and he does what he says.

“It means a lot that he’s with us because he had the opportunity to go back to Michigan and coach, for him to stay with us, it shows it’s not just a job to him but he looks at us as his family. He’s like a father to us.”

This is his fourth year at the school and the team is off to a 6-1 start. “A lot of people wondered, what in the world is he doing there?” Russell says. “I answered to that with silence for a while. What’s the problem? Have I violated any laws etched in stone that I can’t coach at Division III?

“I’ve paid my dues in terms of coaching, so I’m not trying to convince anybody that I can, but I’m enjoying the fact I have the opportunity to coach and give something back.

“The biggest thing The Lord wants us to do is trust Him,” Russell says. “As a result, my life has flourished. I’m married [for 12 years]. My wife Myrna is a wonderful lady. There is peace. I’m an associate minister. I’m coaching at a great institution and having an impact on young people’s lives because somebody took time with me when I came up.”

Some pro team may call someday, but Russell should stay right where he is — influencing young lives. He’s too good for the NBA.