Sports

FRASCHILLA: LOBO LIFE NOT LOCO

ALBUQUERQUE — His home sits near the ninth tee at Tanoan Country Club, one of the prettiest layouts in the Southwest. Fran Fraschilla and his two boys James (age 7) and Matthew (4) play the hole over and over again after

church on Sundays, sharing the kind of quality time that is precious to a father and son.

Work is just a 15-minute ride away, making visits home for lunch and dinner the norm instead of the exception. The business attire is a red-and-black warm-up, a relaxed look that fits the tranquil atmosphere.

He has what some folks around here think is the most important job in the state, coaching the University of New Mexico’s men basketball team. But there is an ease to Fraschilla now that wasn’t there when he was trying to rebuild at St. John’s. He may be 2,000 miles from his roots in Brooklyn, but to Fraschilla, this Land of Enchantment is Paradise Found.

“I’m surprised at how comfortable I fit into the community,” Fraschilla said yesterday between bites of a barbecue sandwich at a restaurant not far from The Pit. “I feel like I’m on vacation. It’s a great place and I could see living here the rest of my life and doing broadcasting after coaching 10 or 15 years. It’s a great place to live. It’s a good fit.”

There’s no reason for Fraschilla to sell me on the place. I grew up here. Actually, about 200 miles south, but in this vast state, 200 miles is like the next township. Having gone to rival New Mexico State, I know all about Lobo basketball and how nuts the people here are about it. In fact, the only things people really care about here are the weather, Lobo basketball and hot air balloons.

During Fraschilla’s first week on the job last March, Sen. Pete Domenici, one of the most powerful men in Washington, called to congratulate him and ask, “How’s recruiting going?” A call from the governor seeking the same inside info soon followed.

Fraschilla embraces all of this like a man who has found his dream job, a town full of basketball junkies just like himself. “I want people who care,” he said. “The one thing you can say about me is that when I was coaching, I wore my emotions on my sleeve. That’s exactly what every fan that comes here does.”

The Lobos begin the meat of their regular-season schedule tomorrow night against Dayton in the first-round of the CoSIDA Tournament. In the other bracket is St. John’s, now coached by Mike Jarvis, who took over after Fraschilla was fired after the 1997-98 season, his second at the school.

If the Lobos get past Dayton, and that’s a big IF, and the Red Storm beat Samford, Fraschilla will be coaching against many of the players he recruited at St. John’s not to mention the administration that fired him. “All I’m worried about is Dayton right now,” Fraschilla said. “I’m not even thinking about St. John’s.”

Sure.

The story about Fraschilla dropping his pants during a practice won’t die, but the main reason for the firing was a clash in styles and philosophies. The agreement tied to his departing financial package prohibits Fraschilla from fully discussing his split with St. John’s nor does he really wish to at this juncture.

But the gleam in his eye tells you he feels like he belongs here more than he ever did at the private Catholic school in Queens. “The Hispanic population here is similar to being an Italian in Brooklyn,” Fraschilla said. “The people here are basically blue-collar people. People don’t go on vacations because they want to save up to buy Lobo season tickets. Coming from a low-income background, I can identify with that.”

There was also the 45-minute ride to St. John’s, the countless speaking engagements across the tri-state and recruiting trips that kept him away from home. By his second season, Fraschilla felt like he was sacrificing his family for the sake of winning games.

Now he’s home a lot more. His players come over for pizza. His kids hang out at the gym while the team practices. “I’m going to coach the same way I’ve always coached and I’m going to work my tail off,” Fraschilla said. “But I’m much more at peace with myself than ever before.”

How good his first team will be is uncertain. The bulk of the talent that led the Lobos to the second round of the NCAA tournament each of the past four years is gone along with former coach Dave Bliss, who took the job at Baylor. Only Lamont Long, a 6-4 senior guard, has NBA potential. But help is on the way.

Fraschilla, regarded as one of the top recruiters in his profession, has freshman guard Marlon Parmer, the Southern California player of the year, running the point. Next year, he’ll have Malcolm Battles, a 6-9 junior college standout and 6-10 prep star Patrick Dennehy of Santa Clara to beef up a weak inside game.

“I’m very fortunate in that I have an athletic director who is a basketball guy,” Fraschilla said. “He understands exactly where we are. Dave Bliss left at the perfect time. I think I’m arriving at the perfect time. He left after losing [All-America] Kenny Thomas and some great players. We’re in the midst of a transition period. Our fans have high expectations. But we’re a long way from where we have to be. I think most fans see that.”

There’s plenty of New York flavor to keep Fraschilla from getting homesick. One of the local radio stations carries the Yankees games and there are enough Italian restaurants around that understand that green chili doesn’t necessarily go in pasta. “This is a good fit,” Fraschilla said. “A real good fit.”