US News

LITTLE MET FANS WILL BE WIDE AWAKE TONIGHT

New York’s littlest Met fans say they’ll be glued to the tube tonight – after being shut out from watching the Amazin’s in the playoffs because the games started too late.

“I’m just excited that the Mets are in the playoffs,” said Rob Adams, 11, a sixth-grader at PS 139 in Rego Park, Queens.

“I don’t watch too many games during the week. I’ll hear about the game on the radio or read about it in the newspaper.”

Kids and parents told The Post that the Mets’ first two playoff games in Arizona – which started at 11 p.m. (EDT) and wrapped up around 2:30 a.m. – were in foul territory.

But things are better now with the Mets returning to Queens for Game 3 against the Diamondbacks tonight at 8 – and that rarest of postseason rarities – a 1 p.m. day game tomorrow.

The teams are tied at one win apiece in the best-of-five division series.

Rob said he’ll be tuning in to both games to see his favorite player, first baseman John Olerud, and the rest of the Mets stomp the snakes.

His mom, Cindy Adams, said the bosses of baseball struck out when they scheduled the late-night road trip to Arizona.

“It’s foolish to start it that late,” Adams said.

“I didn’t even stay up for it.”

Christian Ortiz, 10, a fifth-grader, said the kids at school have barely been talking about the Mets – because they couldn’t watch the games.

“It was too late,” said his dad, Thomas Ortiz, 43, a postal supervisor.

“I have no problem letting him watch, providing it’s up until 9 o’clock. But they have to go to bed on school nights.”

Jessica Chin, 11, a sixth-grader, said she’s happy the next two games are starting earlier.

“I had a lot of homework. I couldn’t really watch,” she said of the first two games.

Her mom, Christina Chin, whose favorite Met is first-base coach Mookie Wilson, said, ‘I have to get up early in the morning myself, so I didn’t watch either.”