Sports

CLARK: I’M STILL QUITTING

BALTIMORE – Despite the seeming cracks that are surfacing in the umpires’ supposed united front, some of the remaining umpires vowed that they are still prepared to resign Sept. 2 if they don’t see any progress in negotiations for a new collective bargaining agreement with Major League Baseball.

Veteran AL umpires Al Clark and Rick Reed said before working last night’s game that they were committed to the letters they sent to MLB about their impending mass resignation, and would not follow the lead of Rocky Roe, Dave Phillips, Dale Scott, Larry Barnett and Jim Joyce, all of whom sent letters to MLB asking that their letters be rescinded.

“Absolutely,” Clark said. “I am definitely committed to the letter I sent. But as for who has since sent letters and what is going to happen, I cannot comment because I am not informed.”

Reed said he heard that a couple of the five renegade umpires, all of whom are fellow AL officials, had special circumstances regarding health and imminent retirement, but would not elaborate.

“I don’t know the particulars,” he said. “If they did that I’m sure it was a tough decision to make, but it doesn’t change what the majority thinks. We’re committed to getting an agreement before the deadline. If we don’t get one, then I’m prepared to resign.

“This isn’t an easy decision because I have a family to support – we all do. But we felt we had to make a move. Baseball has pushed us into a corner and we were at our wits end. What we are doing is trying to open up a line of communication.”