US News

RUTHLESS ROYALS ARE OUT TO GET ME: FERGIE

A furious Sarah Ferguson has come out swinging at the royal family – comparing them to murderous thugs who’ve done everything in their power to destroy her.

“It’s like ‘The Firm,'” Fergie says of Buckingham Palace, comparing it to the deadly group of hot-shot lawyers who stop at nothing – including homicide – in the best seller by John Grisham that was turned into a hit movie with Tom Cruise.

“Historically, many of the women who left the royal family have been beheaded – but I’ve still got mine.”

Not that the royals or the rest of Britain hasn’t tried to rip her to shreds.

“I have been killed and betrayed and sabotaged,” the bitter Duchess of York tells Ladies Home Journal in the April issue.

“Have you seen ‘The Horse Whisperer?’ I feel like the horse in ‘The Horse Whisperer’,” she says of the Robert Redford flick in which a horse is traumatized after being hit by a truck.

Fergie’s unbridled anger comes three years after she divorced Prince Andrew and found that the royal family – and the British public – had no more use for her.

She was blasted in the press and became the butt of cruel jokes.

Things got so bad that a poll in The Sun newspaper found 90 percent of Britons said they’d rather date a goat than Fergie.

“I went from being the Golden Girl to the failing Duchess of York overnight,” she laments.

“Every single thing written about me hits a very deep, sensitive part of me … I mind it desperately.”

Fergie, 39, says that thanks to an endorsement contract with Weight Watchers and paid interviews with Britain’s Hello! magazine, she’s almost out of the crushing debt that nearly sank her a few years back.

She admits the lowest point in her life came when a photographer snapped her cavorting topless in the south of France with balding Texas tycoon Johnny Bryan.

In one of the saucy snaps, Bryan is seen sucking Fergie’s toes as her kids look on.

“I was legally separated at the time. We weren’t doing anything wrong. It wasn’t sordid, it wasn’t awful,” Fergie says.

“But I am the mother of the queen’s granddaughters and I have to be more aware of what is around me than perhaps I was. British society saw me as a disgrace.”