Matt Roy On Signing Six-Year Deal With Washington Capitals: “It Was Just Kind Of A No Brainer When I Heard They Were Interested”

Photo: LA Kings Insider

Newly minted Washington Capitals defenseman Matt Roy appeared on John Scott’s “Dropping The Gloves” podcast a week after signing a six-year contract with the Washington Capitals. The 29-year-old discussed getting drafted, his new contract, and fellow ex-Los Angeles Kings teammate and new Capitals center Pierre-Luc Dubois.

Roy, who was drafted in the seventh round (194th overall) in the 2015 NHL Draft, told the hosts that he was “not really” surprised that he was taken. “I mean, the year before when I played juniors, I had missed pretty much the first half of that season with different injuries. So going into school, I didn’t really have too much junior experience. So going in, I just wanted to just play good, simple hockey. And I ended up playing with Shane Hanna, who I played with him all three years there. And he was a very deep partner and helped me a lot. And yeah, I just kind of played my game, played a more defensive role, I would say. And I don’t think I had any goals my first year.”

Roy talked about leaving Southern California after spending the first six seasons of his NHL career there. “No, yeah, it was, you know, [Los Angeles GM Rob Blake] did come at me with an offer. And, you know, it was really hard to leave LA because I’ve had such great experiences there and all my teammates have been great,” he said. “But I ultimately decided it was just time for my wife and I to get out of California and try something new. So that was tough, but, you know, we made that decision. And, you know, we knew that there were some teams interested. At the end of the day, I think when I heard Washington was interested, it just kind of, it just felt like a great fit for me and my wife.”

He continued, saying “I’ve heard nothing but great things about the organization and the players in the area. So it was, to me, it was just kind of a no brainer when I heard they were interested. I just wanted to go there.”

When asked whether why he joined a team on the very edge of a rebuild, Roy told Scott “Well, I mean, money ($34 million over contract) definitely talks, but to me a lot of it is just like, if I’m gonna sign a long-term deal, I wanna be somewhere that I think my wife will be happy. I think I’ll be happy. Just fitting into the room and the culture, I think that’s a huge thing. And the team itself, I think there’s a ton of potential. And I think you saw that with the trades this year and the free agent pickups, I think they made a lot of great moves and I think it’s really gonna push the team forward.”

On the interest he got on the unrestricted free agent market, Roy acknowledged “We definitely had a few teams to pick from. Just trying to hear everyone’s thoughts on things. And there’s different parts of the country and, you know, there’s Canada, there’s the States. There’s a lot of different factors that go into it. But at the end of the day, it came down to, you know, three teams at the end. And, you know, we decided to move on from LA and Washington just seemed like the best fit.”

Roy also talked about the Capitals’ active offseason, stating “I thought every move they made was great, and I think it’s really going to help the team. So, when you see a team moving in that direction, it just kind of makes me inch more towards them, for sure.”

Regarding the assumption that Dubois is a pain in the locker room, Roy set the record straight, stating: “I feel like the media paints this picture of him, and to me, it couldn’t be further from the truth. You know, he’s a great teammate, he’s a great locker room guy, he gets along with everybody. So in terms of all that, you know, I don’t know where the media is getting all this stuff. You know, if I hated the guy, I probably wouldn’t have come to Washington. You know, he’s one of my friends on the team. And, you know, I really think he’s going to have a bounce back year, and I think he’s really going to be good with the team.”

Roy has one mindset when it comes to playing with Washington captain Alex Ovechkin, who enters this season just 42 goals away from the NHL record: “Win, lose or draw. I don’t care. Get him the puck.”

“I was like, Holy crap, that’s Jill Thornton. I had a poster of you on the wall. Is it going to be nerve wracking walking into the rink, the practice rink, wherever it is, day one, and you see Alex Ovechkin there?,” he said. “I mean, I’m sure it will be a little, but I think it’s also just natural being on a new team with a bunch of guys that I don’t know. There’s [John] Carlson, there’s Ovechkin, there’s a lot of talent there that’s been around for a long time. So I’m sure there will be a little of that, but at the end of the day, everyone’s been welcoming so far.”

You can listen to the full episode here. Roy also discusses facing Edmonton Oilers centers Connor McDavid and Leon Draisaitl in the postseason, living in Los Angeles, and answers some rapid fire light questions.

By Harrison Brown

About Harrison Brown

Harrison is a diehard Caps fan and a hockey fanatic with a passion for sports writing. He attended his first game at age 8 and has been a season ticket holder since the 2010-2011 season. His fondest Caps memory was watching the Capitals hoist the Stanley Cup in Las Vegas. In his spare time, he enjoys travel, photography, and hanging out with his two dogs. Follow Harrison on Twitter @HarrisonB927077
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Matt Roy On Signing Six-Year Deal With Washington Capitals: “It Was Just Kind Of A No Brainer When I Heard They Were Interested”

  1. DC Scappeli says:

    I like that the Caps organization is thought well of around the league by the players, that it is still attractive to other players, that they WANT to come here. Of course, being able to sign for the money and term helps, as Roy stated. Having Ovi and Carlson still here might be intriguing and an incentive? Perhaps the locker room culture, with guys like Oshie, may help too. I guess the players talk, gossip, among each other.

  2. Anonymous says:

    This is an excellent example of what BMac was able to accomplish. Whatever it is, players want to play here. He’s built a strong family organization.

    If it were moving in the direction of the average fan, we would have close to $15 mil in dead cap money, probably Ovi would be gone, and free agents wouldn’t want to come here, unless the money was over the top. Selling off to rebuild with top draft choices is painful, and no guarantee. It takes more than draft picks. There has to be the right chemistry.

    It’s interesting that a lot of BMacs moves include bringing or drafting players that also play together. Roy and Dubois. Strome and Dubois. Chychrun and Duhaime…just to name a few. He’s done this often. It’s the human side of the equation. Most fans just react and criticize without much thought. It helps build this strong family organization.

    Only the most structured and skillful GM’s can resurrect an organization after it’s core peak years, without suffering dreadful seasons in between. The core which included Backy, Kuzy, Holtby, and Oshie(assuming he’s done) is gone. It just took a few years to clean that up, allow for contracts to end, and plan for the future. (Only 1 season not making playoffs). There were a lot of unknowns to deal with. Backys health, Oshies health, and what the heck with Kuzy?

    BMacs patience and vision got the best out of the whole situation. By not rushing Backy out, it translated into $18.4 LTIR. Probably will be the same with Oshie, $5.75. Mantha got a 2nd and 4th. Kuzy got a 3rd, but still had to eat $3.9. Comparing this year to next year, we will be free of Kuzys contract and $2 of Patches Bonus, and should get another Salary Cap jump. Just 2 more years of Ovi and Carlson also will free up another $17.5. Trades and free agency should complete the picture.

    Excited about the year ahead, and also the future for the Caps!

    • Anonymous says:

      Ok, (former GM)BM, we know who this is.

    • Anon Y. Mouse says:

      “It’s interesting that a lot of BMacs moves include bringing or drafting players that also play together.”

      Not to mention the Protas brothers. Funk and Parascak were linemates at Prince George. Milano and Dubois were together in Columbus.

    • Jon Sorensen says:

      I love the lengthy, well thought-out, comments on the site. Our readers always add additional value.

    • DWGie26 says:

      I’m pro GMBM and management as well. Took a fair bit of heat over it but glad to see GMBM get some good recognition from fans and community.

      I am in the corporate world and how businesses are run really fascinates me. There are good ones and bad ones. The great ones always have a culture identity.

      Hockey organizations are for profit corporations designed to turn a profit and build asset value. They also are subject to culture rewards and ramifications.

      One of the important hallmarks of a great culture is how adversity is handled together. How management handles it. How front line leaders (players) drive through adversity. Caps made a long term decision on their path which was not the traditional tear down. It’s proving their loyalty model works quicker and builds long term value. The execution still has to follow and I’m excited to see that going forward.

    • Mark Eiben says:

      Yep. Really impressed with gmbm’s swan song and am looking forward to another year of competitive hockey with a possible playoff berth again. The Caps are set up well going forward and will have the flexibility to buy or sell, depending on how they are faring. Hope to see Leonard sign sometime in April as well.

  3. Prevent Defense says:

    “I ultimately decided it was just time for my wife and I to get out of California”

    A ringing endorsement of Gavin Newsom’s Crumbling Communist Peoples Republic of Mexifornia La-la Land … homeless millions, gangs and drugs, violence and sky-high taxes, crowding and congestion, not to mention a wildfire or two hundred. And did I mention CA is a Leftwing pile of dogpoo?

    Welcome to Redneck DelMarVa, D #3 Roy! A bit humid but you’ll get used to it

  4. Anonymous says:

    I expect TJs to be LTIR and even E Bear… Where will that money go?

  5. Prevent Defense says:

    Anti-tanking sentiment!
    NovaCapsFans commenters and the New Caps Brass agree: Tanking is folly, especially in the Salary-cap era/structure. Just DELIGHTED to hear POHO Mac announce aversion to Tank: “…We’ve been trying to take risks… that’s been our philosophy, versus let’s just tank it and go down and try to win the lottery, which is a painful approach to it.”
    [Painful? More accurate stupid, retarded, disastrous, gross negligence]

    NEWGM Patrick swears his non-Tank philosophy too, and I assume sincerity. “I hate losing” says Patrick, with a disdainful finger at The Tank. Caps did the Tank one time, got lucky and found Ovechkin, and STILL stunk for 4-5 years before acquiring F92 Fedorov and doing miracle 43-win season with huge streak at the end

    Pro Sport in North America is littered with disastrous Tank franchise experiments. PIT, MIA and ARI in MLB are shining examples. Each did Major Tank after success, even Championship, only to follow with 25+ years of disaster and futility

    CHI Blackhawks did their Tank over five seasons ago … and they are STILL trying to swim to the surface of their Toilet Bowl. With their Bozo-A$$, post-Wirtz management crew, they might $ukk for twenty years

  6. Anonymous says:

    Great NHL teams require 3 things. A solid committed and supportive fan base, highly skilled team oriented players, and a great coach and front office, with scouts and a GM who find talent and manage the players on the ice and the cap to ensure a quality team and create a family atmosphere. The Washington Capitals have all of that, but fans come out for great teams and talent is obtained by scouts finding sleeper top line draft picks in the 2nd and 3rd rounds and great players with late 1st round picks as well as helping the GM identify free agents that are under valued or who would better compliment players on our team. We are lucky to have maybe the best GM in the NHL and players and a coach who connect with one another, work hard for one another. The Capitals are a team built around the great 8 but also built for the future, with several mid and late 20 something forwards and blue liners who will keep Washington close to 100 points every year and rely on our front office to still find quality young talent in the draft and free agency. Players want to come to Washington and play for the Caps, and there are 3 reasons for that and they all add up to, Greatness. Ask the Great 8.

    • Anonymous says:

      What you’ve just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.

Leave a Reply